thumb
thumb
thumb
All Reviews - 91 Results
Raidon GR3660 B3 - Raid (0-1) and JBOD Drive Solution
Great product, see video. UPDATE 31 AUG 2018: Just to let you know this raid drive is still going strong and I've had no issues even though I use it to access and write files everyday!
Computing
Posted on 18/11/2016 at 09:36pm
0
1
thumb
Debo Steadyvid Ex Stabilizer
When I bought this (Dec 2015) it was branded as 'Debo'. I see now they have changed the brand but the product is still the same. Upon opening the box I was quite impressed with the quality of the product. All made from a nice strong metal so we were off to a good start. There are 2 weights included. One of these is a single disk. The other is a double disk that looks like 2 single disks stuck together. (in the product images it looks like they are 3 separate disk, but they're not. It does make sense though when you think about it) These act as a counter balance to your camera. You only need to put on as many as you need to balance the weight out once your camera is connected. Trying this out I found that the ball joint, even though I tried it as loose as it can go, would stick quite often. Possibly you could put a little grease in there to try and get a more fluid motion but I didn't want to try this. My main issue with this was the fact that when moving around with the camera, it would drift sideways. This obviously gets annoying - FAST! No matter what techniques I tried I just couldn't get it to stay put. For this reason it went back for a refund. It's a shame though due to the good quality and high hopes I had for it but, as they say, that's how the cookie crumbles! All in all a nice looking product that is useless.
Photography / Videography
Posted on 16/11/2016 at 09:05pm
0
1
thumb
Andoer 1/4 Inch Screw Handle Grip For Camera Accessories
XCSOURCE Spacers UK - Click here. XCSOURCE Spacers US - Click here. So the handles came within a week which is always good! Once opened they surprised me at how good quality they were. For the price I wasn't expecting much but they are actually very impressive. The first thing to strike me was the softness of the rubber grip. It is very soft indeed! I'd imagine these handles would still be very comfortable to hold even after a few hours. DON'T USE THE BALL JOINT FOR HOLDING YOUR CAMERA! The handle has a screw mount which has a ball joint for easy positioning. After playing around with it the ball joint broke. This is not good. But, to be honest, isn't what I wanted them for anyway. Once you unscrew the ball joint, the handle can still be used. I wanted these handles for a camera rig that I'm building so the ball joints were going to be removed anyway. This ball joint is meant to be used with an accessory anyhow. NOT FOR MOUNTING YOUR CAMERA ON. I have mounted the one that hasn't broke to the top of my camera rig to mount something to later if I want to. Taking the handles apart I was pleased to see a strong aluminium tube as the centre structure. How they can produce these things and distribute them for only £6 odd is beyond me. So check out the pictures above and the video link to have a better look around them. Pictures speak a thousand worss. And videos speak a million.
Photography / Videography
Posted on 16/11/2016 at 08:59pm
0
1
thumb
TGC Hot Orange Compact Carry Case
I bought this bag because my camera (Sony HDRXR550) is a little on the large size to today's standards. It has a built-in HDD so is quite bulky. Add to this a wide-angle screw-on lens and it just keeps getting bigger. Although I have a hard case for it I wanted something small enough to not take up much room, but large enough to fit the camera in without having to unscrew the lens every time I put it away. And strangely enough I can't find a suitable one made by Sony (at least at a decent price!). Enter the TGC carry case by The Bag Doctor! This little beauty is absolutely perfect! It's almost like they designed this bag especially for this camera. Even though it states it is for a 'Panasonic HX-WA2 Active HD Camcorder', which is a much smaller/thinner design than my Sony, the bag will accommodate any camera to a max size of: 170mm-L/90mm-W/80mm-H (I would say). Although basic, it has one main compartment that can be sectioned off by a Velcro padded strip insert, one small pocket for a spare battery etc, and a mesh type pocket situated in the inside of the 'lid' perfect for memory cards and a cleaning cloth. It serves its purpose very well and I am stuck to find anything they could improve on. Which is quite a bold statement coming from from me! The external material seems to be PU Coated Nylon, which is typically used for equipment bags such as this. Although I haven't tested it I would say it is rain proof so should do a good job of protecting your camera from water if caught short when out and about. Also on the underside are some rubber skids which will also protect the bag from wear and tear if placing down on outside surfaces such as brick/cement walls and floors. Oh and I almost forgot, there is a shoulder strap with shoulder pad for carrying around. Each end of the strap are strong black plastic clips that are good quality. At it's hortest it is 71cm. And at its longest it is 120cm. So with nothing more to add, this bag is a lifesaver and I couldn't be more happy with it. I bought the Hot Orange which is nice and bright so will be easy to spot in low light conditions and definitely looks happy :) Recommended? - OF COURSE!
Photography / Videography
Posted on 15/11/2016 at 08:54pm
0
1
thumb
Boya BY-M1 Tie-Clip Microphone
If you need a long lead external mic then this is a great one to get. With a built-in pre-amp (1 lithium battery - included) it delivers high quality audio straight into your camera or audio recorder of choice. The sensitivity of the mic actually surprised me. It didn't miss a beat. Of course this can be good or bad. It will pick up rustling of clothing so make sure your wearing something that wont make too much noise. But this should be standard practice anyway when using wearable microphones. Especially when, like this one, the mic has an Omni-directional 360° microphone. In the box you will find the microphone, a metal tie-clip, a windscreen for the mic, 1 lithium (LR44) battery for the pre-amp, the pre-amp itself, and a 1/4" adapter. The cable length is 6 meter (20ft) long. The pre-amp is around 4ft along the cable from the mic. The pre-amp is made of metal and unscrews to reveal the battery slot. It also has a metal belt clip on it so you can attach it to your belt under your clothes. The end of the cable has a 3. 5mm plug so will fit straight into your smart-phone or camera. There is a 1/4" adapter should you need it too. If plugging into a smart-phone then the switch on the pre-amp should be switched to 'off/smart-phone' setting. When plugged into a DSLR the audio quality isn't great. But this is the case with any mic as DSLR's have terrible audio capability in general. It is recommended that you use an external audio recorder if using DSLR, then mix back together in your video editor of choice. All in all a great mic my only gripe would be that it's maybe a little too sensitive. I know that sounds picky but hey. It clearly picked up my stomach rumbling during my review video, which can be seen with the link below. Recommended? - YES!
Photography / Videography
Posted on 13/11/2016 at 08:52pm
0
1
thumb
Spacepilot Pro 3d Mouse By 3d Connexion
This product just oozes quality as soon as you hold it. Lovely contours that keeps this thing comfortable to use for hours. High quality plastic on the base unit and rubber on the controller joystick, with a shiny, piano-black type plastic on the top to give it a very stylish and smart appearance. So once the software is installed, which is easy, you're off! The device automatically recognizes the software that is active on the desktop. You can then open the software settings and adjust sensitivity and key bindings for that software very easily. I won't go through the whole process or all features in this review because I could go on forever. So I will stick to basic points here. I have done a video demonstrating this device though and the link will be at the end of this review. I use Blender 3d modeling program. For Blender users it has been said that you can't adjust settings for Blender within the SpacePilots software. This is wrong. Once Blender is open, minimize it and open SpacePilot's software. You can then adjust all settings as needed. It tells you which software settings you're adjusting at the top. If Blender is the most recent active software and is still open, it will say 'Blender' at the top. Some settings can also be adjusted within blender itself in user preferences under 'Input'. So to keep this short I seemed to have a small problem with mine as far as keeping the joystick still. It seemed that when I let go of the 3D mouse, my screen view would be moving constantly. Albeit very slowly. This is obviously not good and no matter what I did I couldn't get it to stop. The only way I could stop it was to disconnect it from my PC and then reconnect it. It would then be fine until I used the 3d mouse again. I ended up returning it for this reason as no modeler can work if their screen view is moving constantly. But I would hope this was just a faulty item as I haven't read anyone else mention this problem and so I will probably order another one soon :) Recommended? - YES! (if you can afford one. If not there are cheaper versions)
Computing
Posted on 13/11/2016 at 08:50pm
0
1
thumb
Nivea 5pc Regime Gift Set
NOTE: Th price has risen a lot but wit until christmas period and it should come down. I had is for £9. 99 so keep your eye out for the price drop!
Health and Beauty
Posted on 30/08/2018 at 08:48pm
0
1
thumb
Nivea Mens 3 Piece With Shower Bag
NOTE: The price seems to have gone up a lot since I bought this set. But wait until Christmas period and it should go down. I got this in the Lightning Deals for around £6. 25.
Health and Beauty
Posted on 02/10/2016 at 08:43pm
0
1
thumb
Dove 3 Piece With Tool
NOTE: The price has gone up a lot but wait until christmas period for it to come down.
Health and Beauty
Posted on 02/10/2016 at 08:41pm
0
1
thumb
Neo Refills For Parker Pens
I bought a pack of these a while ago and they lasted me round 3 years. I do use them everyday in work for paper work but I don't write reports so the amount of time they will last obviously depends on use. The refills are exactly the same as the parker ones. Only around 1mm difference in length. The blue plastic end is a slightly different shade of blue but otherwise they are the same. The ink flow is none other than beautiful! Much better than the parker ones themselves (from my experience). I will keep buying these as long as they're available. I actually just bought two Parker pens and first thing I did was take out the Parker inks and replace them with these! I have thrown the Parker ones in the bin. No offense Parker, but your ink flow isn't what it used to be Recommended? - YES
Office & Stationary
Posted on 30/08/2018 at 08:28pm
0
1
thumb
thumb
thumb
thumb