thumb
thumb
thumb
All Reviews - 87 Results
Curren M8083 Mens Silver Watch
A nice watch which looks good on the wrist and shines like the best of 'em! Keeps very accurate time which surprised me at this price. Even after a few months it was still within 1 minute accuracy! Very impressed. ----- Curren6 (M8083) Silver Belt/Black Face ------ Cheap as chips which is a plus as you aren't going to care too much if you damage it. I bought it to wear to work so does the job very well. Keeps good time. Haven't noticed any time loss yet anyway. (had around 5 weeks now). The two buttons are fake and so are the 3 small dials. All just for show but look nice. Setting the time is easy and quick. The only thing I don't like is the band. It is too rounded and shiny which makes it look cheap but then, it was, soo... It says on the back it is water resistant, but I wouldn't wear it in shower / rain / pool etc. Good strong clasp on bracelet so no worries of it falling off. Bracelet doesn't pinch your arm hair so always a bonus! Recommended? - at this price? Hell YES!
Jewellery / Watches
Posted on 10/08/2016 at 10:28pm
0
1
thumb
Skmei 1032 Mens Watch
Nice looking military style analogue watch with digital functions. The date is shown in the top screen with the time in digital non-24hr format in the bottom. The description says it has a 46mm diameter face. But I'm actually making it out at 47mm. The case depth is 14mm. There is a stopwatch with split time function. A backlight which illuminates the digital screens well. And also an alarm and chime functions. The outer ring is not 'turnable'. All the buttons on the watch are functional and are NOT just there for show. The band seems strong and so does the clasp which has a release button mechanism. The twister to set the time is difficult to pull out as there is nothing to grab onto unless you stick your finger nail around the back side of it. This is probably good though as you can be sure it will not accidentally come out and stop the time. There was a problem with mine though in that it would stop when the second hand was passing the 10 – 11 mark. This caused the watch to lose 23 hours in around a week. This is obviously not acceptable for any clock or watch to do and so I've returned it. That's not to say they will all do that but thought I'd mention it. Along with the watch came a link remover tool. This broke when using it as it was way too week and would bend when applying pressure. Not fit for purpose. Also there were two cable organisers which seem good quality but seem a little odd to supply with a watch. They are all rubber construction with a peal off sticky back to secure to a wall etc. All in all for the price you can get better watches than this. If you really like the design then give it a try. Otherwise go for something else as there are better watches with the same functionality for around this price. Recommended? Not really!
Jewellery / Watches
Posted on 01/08/2016 at 10:22pm
0
1
thumb
NaviForce NF-9024M Mens Watch - (Black and Red)
Ok so I've had a sudden obsession with watches. Especially cheap watches (don't know why). So I bought a few recently and this was one of them. Straight off that bat – I love the face design! This watch really does look as good in person as it does in the pictures. Most of the more expensive watches I've bought recently don't look as striking when seen in person. Their pictures have been enhanced and so you end up quite disappointed when you actually receive one. But that's gladly not the case with this one. The black and red go great together. And the whole look of the watch is a good mix between smart and military styling. The case is 16mm thick, which, at first seems a little thick, but you do get used to it after a day or two. In the description it says the diameter is 48mm. But to be honest I'm making it out at 46mm. Not a big difference but hey. So... The bracelet is lovely and strong and so is the clasp. I had to remove about 3 links but it was an ease to do with a link remover (available on amazon). The watch itself has a digital screen which shows the time (obviously) on the left screen and the seconds are ticking by on the right screen. Personally I would of preferred the date to be displayed on the right as this is more practical to me as I will never have the need to view the seconds of the day, but I often glance at my watch to view the date when filling in paperwork. To view the date you must hold down the top right button. You can set an alarm on this unit which will go off daily at the set time. To view the alarm hold down the bottom right button. Top left button will activate the back-light, which, is very clear and just plain nice looking! Doesn't look cheap. Bottom left button will change the mode from time to stop watch and allow you to set the alarm. The instructions are clear enough that you wont have any problems understanding. The only downsides: Case thickness. Would be lovely to see a slightly thinner case. Maybe 13mm tops. No Countdown Timer. A feature that is always handy and usually included with any digital watch. Delivery from China - Although I must say it was here within a week and a half so pretty good for the distance. The date should be displayed on the main screen so I can glance at it when needed. As it is now I have to hold down the top right button the see the date. By the time I've put my pen down, reached over with my right hand and pressed the button, I've already remembered the date. So this is no good. Otherwise: Great design - Stylish and looks more expensive than it is. Keeps great time - I've been wearing it a week or so and it hasn't lost any time at all. Seems to function very well. All in all a great buy and I would recommend to anyone looking for a stylish watch but doesn't want to spend too much money.
Jewellery / Watches
Posted on 21/07/2016 at 10:21pm
0
1
thumb
Vunteng Monopod VCT-288
I notice that the Vunteng version isn't available on Amazon at the moment but the Andoer one is. It's exactly the same and even has the same model number. The only difference is the branding. A great low cost piece of kit. See video!
Photography / Videography
Posted on 17/07/2016 at 10:12pm
0
1
thumb
TP Link Powerline AV500
This range extender from TP Link is a neat little package. If you have problems getting wifi all round your house then this could give a new breath of life into the 'dead spots' of your home. What's in the box? Essentially two plugs. One you plug in near your router. You then connect it to your router with the included ethernet cable (approx 1. 5m). You then plug the other plug into a different part of the house' mains. Then connect whatever you want to supply internet to (ps4, xbox, laptop) using the other supplied ethernet cable. Then you press the pair button on the plug connected to your router. Then press the pair button on the other plug and bobs your uncle! Within a few seconds and LED flickers you will have internet running through your electricity wiring in your house. Can't get simpler than that! Serves my ps4 and Fire TV box well in a 150 year old house that has had two extensions added over the years and has very think walls. Recommended? YES!
Computing
Posted on 04/04/2016 at 09:54pm
0
1
thumb
Tecknet L Gaming Mouse Pad - Black
Nicely packaged in a Tecknet branded hard envelope. The mouse mat is very smooth to ensure nice gliding movements of your mouse when gaming or working. The underside is all rubberised which does a great job of keeping the mat stationary. Stitching detail around the edging looks good quality and the Tecknet logo printed on the bottom right-hand corner looks very effective against the black silk-like material. All in all a very nice mouse mat that will hopefully stand the test of time. UPDATE: 29/08/2018 Still going strong and looking as new as the day I bought it!!
Computing
Posted on 24/02/2016 at 09:07pm
0
1
thumb
12V 3800mah DC USB Rechargeable Li ion Battery Pack
I was a little bit doubtful when I ordered this I will admit. Reading other reviews of similar items your doubts will be short lived once you get it. Lovely quality build and what seems so far, to be a solid performance. So much so I think I may order another one. It has a hard plastic body which feels like it can take a knock or two. At the top there is the power socket (5. 5mm outer, 2. 1mm inner), a USB socket, and a power switch, which has a very nice quality 'click' to it so it doesn't feel cheaply made at all! On the front it has 4 small green LEDs and a small button on the side which when pressed (while powered on), tells you how much capacity is left in the battery. This is a great feature as it lets you keep an eye on your situation. The last thing you want is to run out of power while being off guard. This lets you check the battery life to make sure you're prepared when it runs out. When you first get this it says in the manual to let it charge for at least 8-10 hours. It says then that the green LED on the power plug will light up once charged. Well mine didn't. It kept the red LED on. I charged it around 8 hours the first day. Then switched it off for the night, then a further 6 hours (approx) the second day. Still red LED illuminated. I don't know if I'm reading it wrong or have a fault somewhere but the battery seems to show 100% and works no problem. So I'm not too concerned with this. The battery comes with the charging power plug (UK) lead, a power port lead (male to male) and a USB lead. Recommended? - YES!
Miscellaneous
Posted on 27/01/2016 at 08:50pm
0
1
thumb
Glovion Compact Style USB Electronic Lighter
So the box isn't quite as impressive as some of the other lighters from the Glovion range, but once unpacked you probably wont need it again anyway. It is of course the lighter itself that is the product on offer, and what a lovely lighter it is too! With a beautiful sleek look and a very reflective shine people will immediately be asking you where you got it! Smaller in size and lighter in weight than some of the other offerings, it fits perfectly into your pocket without any fuss. And when it's there you can hardly even feel it. The one I have is a nice black/graphite colour and it has a gold circle attached to the lid which covers the heating element that you will use for cigarette ignition. I think the best feature of this unit is that it has no buttons. It is powered on automatically as soon as the lid opens. This is great of course because it means that you can hold it any way you like and so are not forced to hold it in any particular position. At the bottom you have a micro USB port for charging (lead supplied in box) and a charging light to indicate its status. Red means it's charging, and green means its full. The light also will illuminate every time you open the lid. If you are a cigar smoker then the element might be a bit small but I cannot be sure as I don't have any to test it out. For normal cigarettes, mini cigars, and rollies though it is perfect. The lighter measures exactly H- 67mm, W- 29mm, D- 7mm. So it is as thin as your smart-phone, if not thinner! The USB lead is white in colour and measures around 30cm. It seems of good quality and to be of sturdy construction. All in all I am very impressed with it and I think I will be using this as my main lighter for a while. I spend a lot of time at my PC so being able to charge it through a USB port is very convenient for me. It saves me having to keep buying lighter fluid. And the sleekness of it means I can carry it around with ease. Recommended? - YES!
Miscellaneous
Posted on 22/01/2016 at 08:44pm
0
1
thumb
Glovion Electronic Pulse Arc Rechargeable USB Lighter
The lighter arrived pleasantly covered in a nice velvet-feel pouch. Inside, the lighter is presented in a gift box, with soft interior, where it is seated in a slot to protect it. Next to it is another slot with a gold box containing the USB lead. There is also a fold-out instruction leaflet and warranty card. The USB lead itself is of very good quality, measuring exactly 30cm length, and is white in colour, which will keep the Apple users happy when connected to their device for charging! The quality of the USB lead alone lets you know this company is serious about providing good quality items! Upon lifting out the lighter you first notice it's weight. And then notice a small brush hidden in a compartment underneath the lighters slot! A nice little extra! It's like the ones you get with some electric shavers to clean the blades. Not sure what this would be used for but a nice bonus none the less. The lighter feels solid and robust. The outer shell of this lighter is all metal and is nice and cold to the touch. But I think the weight is mostly from the battery it contains. It comes with pre-charged but I couldn't say how much charge it has. The pattern on the surface is very effective. It stands out and you can feel the bumps as you run your finger over it. It is branded 'Jobon' near the bottom of the front side and just above that, there are two hearts overlapped with the word 'Love' written on them in a nice font. Definitely would make a lovely gift for that 'smoking lady' in your life! What I like the best about this model is that the button is located at the front of the device instead of on the side. The 'rainbow' Arc model has this on the side and I find it a little awkward to press sometimes. This one is a lot more comfortable to use, and it feels more natural for the button to be pressed at the front. Another great feature is that the lid also serves as a failsafe. In other words – when the lid is closed, the arc will not light. You have to have the lid in the open position for it to spark at all, so you can feel safe when carrying it in your pocket. It also will not light when charging. When 'sparked up', it produces a purple arc between the two prongs on the top. Looking really quite pretty and unusual, it will definitely 'spark' interest from your friends that's for sure! (see what I did there?). One thing to note is this – The 'arc' prongs seem a little close together to light a regular cigarette. And some people (including myself) have noted this in reviews. For rollies, this lighter is perfect. It does still light regular cigarettes however, as you don't have to push the end of your fag into the spark itself any more than you have to put it into a flame on a normal lighter. It just has to be near enough and the end will light just fine. It is something you will get used to. Just another note – I put the lighter on charge in my USB Hub connected to my PC when I was around half way through writing this review, and it has now finished charging. So I guess it is pretty much fully charged when delivered. Happy days! When plugged in to charge, a red LED illuminates from the bottom of the device to let you know its charging. Once finished, it turns green. Also the device cannot spark when charging. This is because the circuit automatically turns off when plugged in for safety and security. The manual says it will take around 2 hours for full charge from empty. This should then last around 120 'spark ups'. It also will cut out the spark if pressed for more than 15 seconds for safety (although I've timed this as more like 10 or 11 seconds – so that's great!). All in all a great little lighter! Recommended? - YES!
Miscellaneous
Posted on 21/01/2016 at 08:41pm
0
1
thumb
iGadgitz Lightweight Large Universal Flexible Foam Mini Tripod
This lightweight tripod from iGadgitz is surprisingly useful. At first try with my DSLR it did come loose (see video), but that was partly my fault for not checking it was thoroughly connected properly. Once clipped in properly it held the weight well. Although I wouldn't personally trust it with a longer, more heavier lens, I would find use for it as a go-to tripod when needing to do some desktop filming and even whenever I need to place the camera somewhere where there isn't an even surface. The legs on this tripod are flexible so wrap around objects with ease. And once positioned they really do a great job of holding strong to give you confidence in your mount. It is made of lightweight, but strong enough, plastic and has a foam covering to the legs. The mounting screw is metal and so is the tightening screw and also some of the inner working parts too. So it seems like a structure that can be trusted. Just, as I already said, make sure you clip the plate in properly. You will know when it's in by the two prongs on either side that pop out. The 'feet' are made of a white rubber, which give it pretty good traction on it's surface. And due to the flexible legs you can adjust the position/point to just how you want it quite easily. With this tripod, I also had the smartphone mount head adapter. This proved to be very well built indeed. The springs inside are very strong and gripped my phone with a lot of strength. It was, in fact, quite difficult to get my phone back out. I had to slide it out sideways as I could not release the grip simply by extending the clamp any further, But don't worry, due to the clamp being covered with foam, this won't damage it in any way! The phone clamp also has a standard 1/4" screw hole at the bottom for tripod mounting, and another one on the back for selfie stick mounting. All in all I am happy with this purchase. For the price it is a handy piece of kit to have. If traveling it is definitely something you could easily take around with you as it is very lightweight and easy to store.
Photography / Videography
Posted on 07/01/2016 at 08:25pm
0
1
thumb
thumb
thumb
thumb