thumb
thumb
thumb
All Reviews - 91 Results
12V 3800mah DC USB Rechargeable Li ion Battery Pack
I was a little bit doubtful when I ordered this I will admit. Reading other reviews of similar items your doubts will be short lived once you get it. Lovely quality build and what seems so far, to be a solid performance. So much so I think I may order another one. It has a hard plastic body which feels like it can take a knock or two. At the top there is the power socket (5. 5mm outer, 2. 1mm inner), a USB socket, and a power switch, which has a very nice quality 'click' to it so it doesn't feel cheaply made at all! On the front it has 4 small green LEDs and a small button on the side which when pressed (while powered on), tells you how much capacity is left in the battery. This is a great feature as it lets you keep an eye on your situation. The last thing you want is to run out of power while being off guard. This lets you check the battery life to make sure you're prepared when it runs out. When you first get this it says in the manual to let it charge for at least 8-10 hours. It says then that the green LED on the power plug will light up once charged. Well mine didn't. It kept the red LED on. I charged it around 8 hours the first day. Then switched it off for the night, then a further 6 hours (approx) the second day. Still red LED illuminated. I don't know if I'm reading it wrong or have a fault somewhere but the battery seems to show 100% and works no problem. So I'm not too concerned with this. The battery comes with the charging power plug (UK) lead, a power port lead (male to male) and a USB lead. Recommended? - YES!
Miscellaneous
Posted on 27/01/2016 at 08:50pm
0
1
thumb
Glovion Compact Style USB Electronic Lighter
So the box isn't quite as impressive as some of the other lighters from the Glovion range, but once unpacked you probably wont need it again anyway. It is of course the lighter itself that is the product on offer, and what a lovely lighter it is too! With a beautiful sleek look and a very reflective shine people will immediately be asking you where you got it! Smaller in size and lighter in weight than some of the other offerings, it fits perfectly into your pocket without any fuss. And when it's there you can hardly even feel it. The one I have is a nice black/graphite colour and it has a gold circle attached to the lid which covers the heating element that you will use for cigarette ignition. I think the best feature of this unit is that it has no buttons. It is powered on automatically as soon as the lid opens. This is great of course because it means that you can hold it any way you like and so are not forced to hold it in any particular position. At the bottom you have a micro USB port for charging (lead supplied in box) and a charging light to indicate its status. Red means it's charging, and green means its full. The light also will illuminate every time you open the lid. If you are a cigar smoker then the element might be a bit small but I cannot be sure as I don't have any to test it out. For normal cigarettes, mini cigars, and rollies though it is perfect. The lighter measures exactly H- 67mm, W- 29mm, D- 7mm. So it is as thin as your smart-phone, if not thinner! The USB lead is white in colour and measures around 30cm. It seems of good quality and to be of sturdy construction. All in all I am very impressed with it and I think I will be using this as my main lighter for a while. I spend a lot of time at my PC so being able to charge it through a USB port is very convenient for me. It saves me having to keep buying lighter fluid. And the sleekness of it means I can carry it around with ease. Recommended? - YES!
Miscellaneous
Posted on 22/01/2016 at 08:44pm
0
1
thumb
Glovion Electronic Pulse Arc Rechargeable USB Lighter
The lighter arrived pleasantly covered in a nice velvet-feel pouch. Inside, the lighter is presented in a gift box, with soft interior, where it is seated in a slot to protect it. Next to it is another slot with a gold box containing the USB lead. There is also a fold-out instruction leaflet and warranty card. The USB lead itself is of very good quality, measuring exactly 30cm length, and is white in colour, which will keep the Apple users happy when connected to their device for charging! The quality of the USB lead alone lets you know this company is serious about providing good quality items! Upon lifting out the lighter you first notice it's weight. And then notice a small brush hidden in a compartment underneath the lighters slot! A nice little extra! It's like the ones you get with some electric shavers to clean the blades. Not sure what this would be used for but a nice bonus none the less. The lighter feels solid and robust. The outer shell of this lighter is all metal and is nice and cold to the touch. But I think the weight is mostly from the battery it contains. It comes with pre-charged but I couldn't say how much charge it has. The pattern on the surface is very effective. It stands out and you can feel the bumps as you run your finger over it. It is branded 'Jobon' near the bottom of the front side and just above that, there are two hearts overlapped with the word 'Love' written on them in a nice font. Definitely would make a lovely gift for that 'smoking lady' in your life! What I like the best about this model is that the button is located at the front of the device instead of on the side. The 'rainbow' Arc model has this on the side and I find it a little awkward to press sometimes. This one is a lot more comfortable to use, and it feels more natural for the button to be pressed at the front. Another great feature is that the lid also serves as a failsafe. In other words – when the lid is closed, the arc will not light. You have to have the lid in the open position for it to spark at all, so you can feel safe when carrying it in your pocket. It also will not light when charging. When 'sparked up', it produces a purple arc between the two prongs on the top. Looking really quite pretty and unusual, it will definitely 'spark' interest from your friends that's for sure! (see what I did there?). One thing to note is this – The 'arc' prongs seem a little close together to light a regular cigarette. And some people (including myself) have noted this in reviews. For rollies, this lighter is perfect. It does still light regular cigarettes however, as you don't have to push the end of your fag into the spark itself any more than you have to put it into a flame on a normal lighter. It just has to be near enough and the end will light just fine. It is something you will get used to. Just another note – I put the lighter on charge in my USB Hub connected to my PC when I was around half way through writing this review, and it has now finished charging. So I guess it is pretty much fully charged when delivered. Happy days! When plugged in to charge, a red LED illuminates from the bottom of the device to let you know its charging. Once finished, it turns green. Also the device cannot spark when charging. This is because the circuit automatically turns off when plugged in for safety and security. The manual says it will take around 2 hours for full charge from empty. This should then last around 120 'spark ups'. It also will cut out the spark if pressed for more than 15 seconds for safety (although I've timed this as more like 10 or 11 seconds – so that's great!). All in all a great little lighter! Recommended? - YES!
Miscellaneous
Posted on 21/01/2016 at 08:41pm
0
1
thumb
iGadgitz Lightweight Large Universal Flexible Foam Mini Tripod
This lightweight tripod from iGadgitz is surprisingly useful. At first try with my DSLR it did come loose (see video), but that was partly my fault for not checking it was thoroughly connected properly. Once clipped in properly it held the weight well. Although I wouldn't personally trust it with a longer, more heavier lens, I would find use for it as a go-to tripod when needing to do some desktop filming and even whenever I need to place the camera somewhere where there isn't an even surface. The legs on this tripod are flexible so wrap around objects with ease. And once positioned they really do a great job of holding strong to give you confidence in your mount. It is made of lightweight, but strong enough, plastic and has a foam covering to the legs. The mounting screw is metal and so is the tightening screw and also some of the inner working parts too. So it seems like a structure that can be trusted. Just, as I already said, make sure you clip the plate in properly. You will know when it's in by the two prongs on either side that pop out. The 'feet' are made of a white rubber, which give it pretty good traction on it's surface. And due to the flexible legs you can adjust the position/point to just how you want it quite easily. With this tripod, I also had the smartphone mount head adapter. This proved to be very well built indeed. The springs inside are very strong and gripped my phone with a lot of strength. It was, in fact, quite difficult to get my phone back out. I had to slide it out sideways as I could not release the grip simply by extending the clamp any further, But don't worry, due to the clamp being covered with foam, this won't damage it in any way! The phone clamp also has a standard 1/4" screw hole at the bottom for tripod mounting, and another one on the back for selfie stick mounting. All in all I am happy with this purchase. For the price it is a handy piece of kit to have. If traveling it is definitely something you could easily take around with you as it is very lightweight and easy to store.
Photography / Videography
Posted on 07/01/2016 at 08:25pm
0
1
thumb
Zenga Maxi Jet Lighter Zl10
My trusty lighter of around 5 years had finally started showing it's age. First it wouldn't light on first press, then it got to the point that it would take about 30 presses to strike once! I knew it was time for a new lighter! I ordered this as it was cheap and had a jet flame! I didn't think it would be very good but it would last until I bought a nicer, more long-term one. It arrived and I was pleasantly surprised (and if you read my reviews often you'd find that I'm surprised quite a lot!). It is a matte black and has of a slight rubberized coated feel to the whole exterior, bar the bottom. This reminds me of what computer mouse manufacturers often use on the top of most mice these days. It's nice. The outer casing of the lighter is made of a slightly flexible plastic which is quite strong. This means that the lighter is kept very light indeed. It is hardly noticed when inside your pocket even though it is quite large in size. The whole underside of the unit is a clear plastic. This gives you a nice view of the fluid levels and this is when you really notice how big this lighters tank is. When it arrived it was pre-filled with fluid and ready to go. I would say it was around three quarters full then and a month later it finally ran out (and I smoke quite a lot). So this really does pack a lot fuel and due to the (very) clear tank view at the bottom it is easy to see when your likely to run low and so you can always make sure your full and loaded. The flame itself is blue with a hint of green if held long enough. It seems to hold up against the wind very well. At least it survived the 'blow test' anyway! This 'part time' lighter has now earned a place in my work bag for when I'm outside and need a strong wind proof light!
Health and Beauty
Posted on 07/01/2016 at 08:21pm
0
1
thumb
Gillette Fusion Pro Glide Styler
A lovely little device from Gillette. At first I thought it may be a bit large for wet shaving but it turned out smaller than I imagined. With high quality throughout, this shaver is a nice step up if you're coming from a normal Fusion razor. It has the ability to trim sideburns or moustache/beard hair nicely, with or without the 3 hair guards via the battery operated, electric shaver. This unit runs off one AA battery, which is supplied pre-installed in the device, easily accessed by turning the bottom half of the handle anti-clockwise. Along with the shaver you get a nice holder/hub for it. It has a nice sleek look to it and holds not only the shaver itself, but also the wet blade, and electric hair guards too (at the rear). All, with the exception of the shaver itself, fit tightly into their slots, stopping them from falling out in the event of it falling over. The electric trimmer, although isn't as good as shavers specifically designed for the job, performs pretty well. The power isn't great, but it does the job eventually. It reminds me of one of those 'flick-out' trimmers you sometimes get on the side of some electric shavers. I have been using it now for around 3 weeks and I must say that I like it. It is definitely an improvement on the previous Fusion model in the fact that it can be switched to a hair trimmer in a few seconds. This saves me having to keep another trimmer in the bathroom cupboard, charged and ready for use. So it's a thumbs up from me!
Health and Beauty
Posted on 04/01/2016 at 08:19pm
0
1
thumb
Tonor Bluetooth Rechargeable Mouse
Right, so after trying another mouse from Tonor and having a terrible time with it (the 1600 Bluetooth thing), I decided I would give them another chance to redeem themselves. This mouse arrived nicely packaged in a plain white box. Nice and simple. Opening it up you find the mouse inside with a USB lead (USB plug one end, Micro USB the other). This will be used for charging the mouse when the battery runs dead. The lead is black, and seems to be of decent quality. It is approximately 21cm long end to end. Looking at the mouse, you can see the quality isn't 'high-end'. But I'm only really talking about the sides here, as the top of the mouse looks very nice and stylish, and feels so too! But at this price it is more than adequate. The top has a lovely matte/rubberized feel. It is smooth to touch and I must say it feels way better than some of the more expensive mice I've used. Although this is let down by the sides, which are a hard but brittle type plastic with a bumpy surface. Bumps that are somewhat similar to that of a DSLR camera body. But with way less quality. Not to worry though. It is perfectly fine for a small laptop mouse. On the thumb area you have two buttons. Used for file explorer and web page navigation. This is a must-have feature for me. And i'm sure anyone who has gotten used to these also feels the same. A mouse without these buttons is like a smartphone without a camera. You don't 'need' a camera on a phone, but you're used to the convenience. Well I'm glad to report, these buttons work as expected. On the first Tonor mouse I tried, these buttons worked the wrong way around. But this one works flawlessly. At the top you have the normal LMB, RMB MMB and scroll wheel. And also the DPI button. All work well and the LMB and RMB gave me the best surprise of all – they are completely silent! There is no click sound from either of these dark horses! It says nowhere on the description page that these buttons are silent-clickers (for lack of a better term), so they kept that quiet! See what I did there? Moving on... Underneath, the mouse has the 'pair' button, an on/off switch, and of course, the laser itself. The on/off button seems a little thin and small. But is surprising easy to turn on and off. Some other mice (quite a few actually) have been hard to switch on and off due to the switch itself being to 'flush' with the underside of the mouse. Although this looks better, it makes it hard for the user to switch it. Making them lift it up and look underneath while doing it. But with this mouse it's not a problem as you can easily feel with your finger where the switch is, and 'flick' it with ease. All without needing to see what you're doing. Nice! Setup was easy. Went to my bluetooth settings on my laptop, searched for devices. Then, switched the mouse on and pressed the 'pair' button. Voila! They found each other, and are now a match made in heaven. Or something. So using it is very nice. The soundless buttons are such a nice touch. I wish all mice had silent clicks! You can feel when you click them as there is a small bump when pressed, so there is never any confusion on whether you've pressed it or not. The only grumble i have is this... And this is me being picky... I have this problem with silver or gray coated/coloured plastic. I don't know what it is but i feel that gray or silver coated plastic just looks cheap and tacky. This mouse has gray thumb buttons and dpi button. The silver coating on the wheel isn't that bad TBH. But the other buttons (i just mentioned) do look quite cheap because of this. I feel they would of looked better if they had been piano black or similar. But of course, this is just one mans view. Recommended? YES! It's a very nice mouse. And for this price - a cracker!
Computing
Posted on 04/01/2016 at 08:13pm
0
1
thumb
Tecknet M008 Hyperbolt Gaming Mouse
To download the software for this mouse go here: Click here! Download the one that says V1.0. This mouse seems to have been discontinued unfortunately. If you can find this mouse anywhere please mention in comments where. Thanks The linked mouse is different but similar. Look out Logitech, Tecknet have one hell of a mouse here! After using a Logitech Performance MX for a year (£59), then switching up to a Logitech G602 (£69), I decided I would give an underdog a chance and get a cheaper mouse (£19). I sometimes like doing this as you never know when you'll find one of those hidden gems! Well, I definitely found one here with the M008! I ordered the mouse and it arrived the next day (although it wasn't called the Hyperbolt then, and it says nothing of this name on the actual mouse nor in the software). It was presented in a plain box that doesn't really get you very excited. I usually keep ALL packaging for products. But this went straight to the garbage. Mind you this is a good thing as basic packaging keeps the price down. The mouse itself on the other hand, impressed me from the moment I picked it up. The build quality is that of a £60 mouse. Not the £18. 97 that I payed for it! My first thought was simply "WOW! OK, so this isn't at all what I expected!". It has a matte/rubberized feel to it all over. Even the side thumb buttons are matte/rubber coated (I'm still undecided whether it IS a rubberized coat or not, it's hard to tell, but it feels nice!). The only parts of the top that are not coated is the middle top part where the DPI lights are, and the small 'quick fire' button just left of the LMB. These are a glossy black plastic, of good quality! It has a 6ft (approx) nylon covered USB cord. I love these as they don't get knotted very easily. They also don't grip anything on your desk. So you are free to move around with ease. On the underside I was surprised once again to find it is all brushed aluminium. Simple, flat, shiny, and just smooth! The 'feet' are a black plastic, standard of a mouse bottom really. Here, you will find the normal laser and , setting switch, and the not-so-normal weight system, usually only found on higher-end mice. A twist of the weight cover, to the left, and it opens up to slide out. Actually this isn't as easy as I just made it sound. You do have to give it some persuasion. Tapping it against your palm normally works. But it comes out eventually. Inside there are 8 small weights, each weighing 2. 462g each (approx). So altogether, with the 'cover' that holds them (around 1717g), the total weight of this is around 21. 4g. This adds a nice amount of weight to the mouse, even with it's all metal underside. Of course, you can add or subtract any of the small weights to get the feel you want. Plugging it in to my PC (Win 7) it starts without a hitch. No drivers needed, just plug and play. I then installed the software, by download : Click here to download! This allows you to configure the mouse to your exact needs. From the colour of the lights, to the value of any of the 13 buttons on the device. There is way too many settings to mention them all here. But what I found interesting though, was the ability to adjust the DPI settings. Usually with mice like this, you can choose between a few pre-set DPI speeds. With the M008 you can manually set those speeds. So if you don't like one of the defaults, let's say the 2000dpi setting, you can change it for 2400 instead. Hell even 2450 if that floats your boat. You can edit every 1 of the FIVE DPI settings to exactly how you like it! Anywhere from 50dpi up to an astounding 16400dpi! Now isn't that impressive?!!! Oh and you can set the X axis speed to be different to the Y axis if you really want to get fancy! So anyway I love this mouse. I have been on the hunt for the 'perfect mouse' for a while now. I've even bought a fair few mice since owning this one. But still none of them have even come close. The look of it isn't the best I've seen I'll be honest. My personal favorite for looks, was the Performance MX from Logitech. That was a really classy looking thing! And it was probably the most beautiful feeling mouse I'll ever have owned. But, this M008 definitely looks like a tool. A strong, sturdy and robust tool. Cause after all – that's what we want in a mouse... Reliability and functionality! I will post another video soon showing the software features more in depth. So if your interested in that then hit subscribe so you don't miss it!
Computing
Posted on 03/01/2016 at 08:07pm
0
1
thumb
Tonor 1600 Bluetooth Mouse
Ok so this one didn't go according to plan. The first thing I notice once I opened the outer packaging is that the mouse was slightly bigger than the box it was in. The top of the mouse was protruding through the clear plastic window. Not a big deal but still doesn't look all that professional. And I'm wondering if that is the reason the pictures above show the box with NO mouse inside it (hmm?). Pulling out the mouse was easy enough though. The weight is light and just what you want with a small mouse that you would use while travelling. This isn't the type of mouse that you would use at your desktop everyday. It is something you would use with a laptop here and there if, like me, you don't like touch pads. It is constructed of a light weight, rather cheap plastic. It feels quite brittle, as if it might crack if dropped on a hard enough floor. But, as long as it works, and you look after it, it will be fine. So the top surface of the mouse has a slightly rubberised feel to it. Always the way to go with mice. The sides are a glossy hard plastic, and so is the bottom. There are the three normal buttons at the top along with the scroll wheel and a DPI button (with three levels). All work well enough for a £9 mouse. At the side there are two thumb buttons used for navigating back and forth web pages and file browser pages. Here is where the oddities start. The buttons work the wrong way around. I mean back is forth and forth is back. If that makes sense? Again not a massive deal, but it will get on your nerves! IT REALLY WILL! On the underside there is an on/off switch and battery compartment. All is well so it seems. At least until you open the battery compartment door. You see, the design of this compartment is made so that the batteries go in one on top of the other. Instead of being next to each other like normal, you have a very deep hole which you must get one AAA battery to the bottom of, and then stack the other on top. This is not a hard thing to accomplish, but it does mean that getting them back out again will be a challenge. Me being me, I decided to plan ahead. I cut a small strip of paper so that I could use it to wrap around the batteries for easily removing them later. This turned out to be impossible as the paper just ripped when I attempted this as the batteries were wedged in there so tightly. I then had to use a pair of scissors to lever them out later, which took a while and because the batteries were so tightly fitted, they pulled the metal prongs out with them and so bent them! Oh dear. Now the mouse is out of service and has been sent back for a refund. All in all I would say avoid this mouse. There are way better ones out there for around the same price. I ended up replacing this with another Tonor bluetooth mouse which is way better and higher quality. Also if you have large hands I could see this being very uncomfortable to use as this is a very small mouse indeed. Recommended? - No!
Computing
Posted on 24/02/2016 at 07:59pm
0
1
thumb
Havit MS976GT Gaming Mouse
I like gaming mice! I mean I ONLY like gaming mice! Reason being is that they always have thumb buttons! And sometimes even more buttons that can be programmed using software. Of course this particular piece form Havit doesn't have the latter but it does have the trusty thumbs and a very smart design, and that was enough for me. OK, so I ordered this mouse as it looks a very nice and smart thing for the small price tag. Inside it's nicely branded box, was the mouse under a moulded plastic window usually only seen with high-end mice. This definitely gives a good first impression. Under the mouse you'll find all the usual paper documents you'd expect but also a nice little card letting you know what you can do if your happy, or not. The mouse itself is of a very decent quality. A nice matte feel plastic housing which is always a welcome feature, as there's nothing worse than a smooth shiny mouse that gets covered in sweat! The two main buttons have a reasonable sound to them (not even the top mice have mastered the perfect click volume yet) and the mouse wheel button and rotation has no sound at all (unless you hold your ear right by them!). The wheel is of a very nice quality! It is a soft rubber that you can actually feel depressing inwards when pushing down on it. It is by far the most comfortable mouse wheel I have ever used! Just inwards from the wheel is the DPI button. This has s symbol of a 'running man' on it, which is actually a nice change from the usual 'DPI' shown on other mice. I'm not sure whether it's a design flaw, or just mine was stiff, but when I pressed this button, it gave me no feedback whatsoever that I had pressed it. It almost felt 'stuck' in that I didn't feel it go in at all and only knew that it had worked when my cursor started going faster/slower. Underneath you have the on/off switch, laser itself, and of course a battery compartment. This takes 2 AA batteries which, due to there being no pointless light system on this mouse, last a reasonable, if not very long time. The dongle is also located here too. Setting up was as straight forwards as it gets. Plug in the dongle, wait for your PC/Mac install the driver and away you go. At this point I always check to see the connection is solid by doing the 'drag test'. This is when I hold down the mouse button on my desktop and see that the 'selection box' stays on the screen. If it disappears at any point without you taking your finger of the button then, you got a faulty connection and/or button. This mouse passed the test and so made it passed the first round. Next round is just an endurance test, where I give the mouse to my son for Christmas! Good luck mouse!
Computing
Posted on 04/01/2016 at 10:30pm
0
1
thumb
thumb
thumb
thumb