thumb
thumb
thumb
All Reviews - 87 Results
Zenga Maxi Jet Lighter Zl10
My trusty lighter of around 5 years had finally started showing it's age. First it wouldn't light on first press, then it got to the point that it would take about 30 presses to strike once! I knew it was time for a new lighter! I ordered this as it was cheap and had a jet flame! I didn't think it would be very good but it would last until I bought a nicer, more long-term one. It arrived and I was pleasantly surprised (and if you read my reviews often you'd find that I'm surprised quite a lot!). It is a matte black and has of a slight rubberized coated feel to the whole exterior, bar the bottom. This reminds me of what computer mouse manufacturers often use on the top of most mice these days. It's nice. The outer casing of the lighter is made of a slightly flexible plastic which is quite strong. This means that the lighter is kept very light indeed. It is hardly noticed when inside your pocket even though it is quite large in size. The whole underside of the unit is a clear plastic. This gives you a nice view of the fluid levels and this is when you really notice how big this lighters tank is. When it arrived it was pre-filled with fluid and ready to go. I would say it was around three quarters full then and a month later it finally ran out (and I smoke quite a lot). So this really does pack a lot fuel and due to the (very) clear tank view at the bottom it is easy to see when your likely to run low and so you can always make sure your full and loaded. The flame itself is blue with a hint of green if held long enough. It seems to hold up against the wind very well. At least it survived the 'blow test' anyway! This 'part time' lighter has now earned a place in my work bag for when I'm outside and need a strong wind proof light!
Health and Beauty
Posted on 07/01/2016 at 08:21pm
0
1
thumb
Gillette Fusion Pro Glide Styler
A lovely little device from Gillette. At first I thought it may be a bit large for wet shaving but it turned out smaller than I imagined. With high quality throughout, this shaver is a nice step up if you're coming from a normal Fusion razor. It has the ability to trim sideburns or moustache/beard hair nicely, with or without the 3 hair guards via the battery operated, electric shaver. This unit runs off one AA battery, which is supplied pre-installed in the device, easily accessed by turning the bottom half of the handle anti-clockwise. Along with the shaver you get a nice holder/hub for it. It has a nice sleek look to it and holds not only the shaver itself, but also the wet blade, and electric hair guards too (at the rear). All, with the exception of the shaver itself, fit tightly into their slots, stopping them from falling out in the event of it falling over. The electric trimmer, although isn't as good as shavers specifically designed for the job, performs pretty well. The power isn't great, but it does the job eventually. It reminds me of one of those 'flick-out' trimmers you sometimes get on the side of some electric shavers. I have been using it now for around 3 weeks and I must say that I like it. It is definitely an improvement on the previous Fusion model in the fact that it can be switched to a hair trimmer in a few seconds. This saves me having to keep another trimmer in the bathroom cupboard, charged and ready for use. So it's a thumbs up from me!
Health and Beauty
Posted on 04/01/2016 at 08:19pm
0
1
thumb
Tonor Bluetooth Rechargeable Mouse
Right, so after trying another mouse from Tonor and having a terrible time with it (the 1600 Bluetooth thing), I decided I would give them another chance to redeem themselves. This mouse arrived nicely packaged in a plain white box. Nice and simple. Opening it up you find the mouse inside with a USB lead (USB plug one end, Micro USB the other). This will be used for charging the mouse when the battery runs dead. The lead is black, and seems to be of decent quality. It is approximately 21cm long end to end. Looking at the mouse, you can see the quality isn't 'high-end'. But I'm only really talking about the sides here, as the top of the mouse looks very nice and stylish, and feels so too! But at this price it is more than adequate. The top has a lovely matte/rubberized feel. It is smooth to touch and I must say it feels way better than some of the more expensive mice I've used. Although this is let down by the sides, which are a hard but brittle type plastic with a bumpy surface. Bumps that are somewhat similar to that of a DSLR camera body. But with way less quality. Not to worry though. It is perfectly fine for a small laptop mouse. On the thumb area you have two buttons. Used for file explorer and web page navigation. This is a must-have feature for me. And i'm sure anyone who has gotten used to these also feels the same. A mouse without these buttons is like a smartphone without a camera. You don't 'need' a camera on a phone, but you're used to the convenience. Well I'm glad to report, these buttons work as expected. On the first Tonor mouse I tried, these buttons worked the wrong way around. But this one works flawlessly. At the top you have the normal LMB, RMB MMB and scroll wheel. And also the DPI button. All work well and the LMB and RMB gave me the best surprise of all – they are completely silent! There is no click sound from either of these dark horses! It says nowhere on the description page that these buttons are silent-clickers (for lack of a better term), so they kept that quiet! See what I did there? Moving on... Underneath, the mouse has the 'pair' button, an on/off switch, and of course, the laser itself. The on/off button seems a little thin and small. But is surprising easy to turn on and off. Some other mice (quite a few actually) have been hard to switch on and off due to the switch itself being to 'flush' with the underside of the mouse. Although this looks better, it makes it hard for the user to switch it. Making them lift it up and look underneath while doing it. But with this mouse it's not a problem as you can easily feel with your finger where the switch is, and 'flick' it with ease. All without needing to see what you're doing. Nice! Setup was easy. Went to my bluetooth settings on my laptop, searched for devices. Then, switched the mouse on and pressed the 'pair' button. Voila! They found each other, and are now a match made in heaven. Or something. So using it is very nice. The soundless buttons are such a nice touch. I wish all mice had silent clicks! You can feel when you click them as there is a small bump when pressed, so there is never any confusion on whether you've pressed it or not. The only grumble i have is this... And this is me being picky... I have this problem with silver or gray coated/coloured plastic. I don't know what it is but i feel that gray or silver coated plastic just looks cheap and tacky. This mouse has gray thumb buttons and dpi button. The silver coating on the wheel isn't that bad TBH. But the other buttons (i just mentioned) do look quite cheap because of this. I feel they would of looked better if they had been piano black or similar. But of course, this is just one mans view. Recommended? YES! It's a very nice mouse. And for this price - a cracker!
Computing
Posted on 04/01/2016 at 08:13pm
0
1
thumb
Tecknet M008 Hyperbolt Gaming Mouse
To download the software for this mouse go here: Click here! Download the one that says V1.0. This mouse seems to have been discontinued unfortunately. If you can find this mouse anywhere please mention in comments where. Thanks The linked mouse is different but similar. Look out Logitech, Tecknet have one hell of a mouse here! After using a Logitech Performance MX for a year (£59), then switching up to a Logitech G602 (£69), I decided I would give an underdog a chance and get a cheaper mouse (£19). I sometimes like doing this as you never know when you'll find one of those hidden gems! Well, I definitely found one here with the M008! I ordered the mouse and it arrived the next day (although it wasn't called the Hyperbolt then, and it says nothing of this name on the actual mouse nor in the software). It was presented in a plain box that doesn't really get you very excited. I usually keep ALL packaging for products. But this went straight to the garbage. Mind you this is a good thing as basic packaging keeps the price down. The mouse itself on the other hand, impressed me from the moment I picked it up. The build quality is that of a £60 mouse. Not the £18. 97 that I payed for it! My first thought was simply "WOW! OK, so this isn't at all what I expected!". It has a matte/rubberized feel to it all over. Even the side thumb buttons are matte/rubber coated (I'm still undecided whether it IS a rubberized coat or not, it's hard to tell, but it feels nice!). The only parts of the top that are not coated is the middle top part where the DPI lights are, and the small 'quick fire' button just left of the LMB. These are a glossy black plastic, of good quality! It has a 6ft (approx) nylon covered USB cord. I love these as they don't get knotted very easily. They also don't grip anything on your desk. So you are free to move around with ease. On the underside I was surprised once again to find it is all brushed aluminium. Simple, flat, shiny, and just smooth! The 'feet' are a black plastic, standard of a mouse bottom really. Here, you will find the normal laser and , setting switch, and the not-so-normal weight system, usually only found on higher-end mice. A twist of the weight cover, to the left, and it opens up to slide out. Actually this isn't as easy as I just made it sound. You do have to give it some persuasion. Tapping it against your palm normally works. But it comes out eventually. Inside there are 8 small weights, each weighing 2. 462g each (approx). So altogether, with the 'cover' that holds them (around 1717g), the total weight of this is around 21. 4g. This adds a nice amount of weight to the mouse, even with it's all metal underside. Of course, you can add or subtract any of the small weights to get the feel you want. Plugging it in to my PC (Win 7) it starts without a hitch. No drivers needed, just plug and play. I then installed the software, by download : Click here to download! This allows you to configure the mouse to your exact needs. From the colour of the lights, to the value of any of the 13 buttons on the device. There is way too many settings to mention them all here. But what I found interesting though, was the ability to adjust the DPI settings. Usually with mice like this, you can choose between a few pre-set DPI speeds. With the M008 you can manually set those speeds. So if you don't like one of the defaults, let's say the 2000dpi setting, you can change it for 2400 instead. Hell even 2450 if that floats your boat. You can edit every 1 of the FIVE DPI settings to exactly how you like it! Anywhere from 50dpi up to an astounding 16400dpi! Now isn't that impressive?!!! Oh and you can set the X axis speed to be different to the Y axis if you really want to get fancy! So anyway I love this mouse. I have been on the hunt for the 'perfect mouse' for a while now. I've even bought a fair few mice since owning this one. But still none of them have even come close. The look of it isn't the best I've seen I'll be honest. My personal favorite for looks, was the Performance MX from Logitech. That was a really classy looking thing! And it was probably the most beautiful feeling mouse I'll ever have owned. But, this M008 definitely looks like a tool. A strong, sturdy and robust tool. Cause after all – that's what we want in a mouse... Reliability and functionality! I will post another video soon showing the software features more in depth. So if your interested in that then hit subscribe so you don't miss it!
Computing
Posted on 03/01/2016 at 08:07pm
0
1
thumb
Tonor 1600 Bluetooth Mouse
Ok so this one didn't go according to plan. The first thing I notice once I opened the outer packaging is that the mouse was slightly bigger than the box it was in. The top of the mouse was protruding through the clear plastic window. Not a big deal but still doesn't look all that professional. And I'm wondering if that is the reason the pictures above show the box with NO mouse inside it (hmm?). Pulling out the mouse was easy enough though. The weight is light and just what you want with a small mouse that you would use while travelling. This isn't the type of mouse that you would use at your desktop everyday. It is something you would use with a laptop here and there if, like me, you don't like touch pads. It is constructed of a light weight, rather cheap plastic. It feels quite brittle, as if it might crack if dropped on a hard enough floor. But, as long as it works, and you look after it, it will be fine. So the top surface of the mouse has a slightly rubberised feel to it. Always the way to go with mice. The sides are a glossy hard plastic, and so is the bottom. There are the three normal buttons at the top along with the scroll wheel and a DPI button (with three levels). All work well enough for a £9 mouse. At the side there are two thumb buttons used for navigating back and forth web pages and file browser pages. Here is where the oddities start. The buttons work the wrong way around. I mean back is forth and forth is back. If that makes sense? Again not a massive deal, but it will get on your nerves! IT REALLY WILL! On the underside there is an on/off switch and battery compartment. All is well so it seems. At least until you open the battery compartment door. You see, the design of this compartment is made so that the batteries go in one on top of the other. Instead of being next to each other like normal, you have a very deep hole which you must get one AAA battery to the bottom of, and then stack the other on top. This is not a hard thing to accomplish, but it does mean that getting them back out again will be a challenge. Me being me, I decided to plan ahead. I cut a small strip of paper so that I could use it to wrap around the batteries for easily removing them later. This turned out to be impossible as the paper just ripped when I attempted this as the batteries were wedged in there so tightly. I then had to use a pair of scissors to lever them out later, which took a while and because the batteries were so tightly fitted, they pulled the metal prongs out with them and so bent them! Oh dear. Now the mouse is out of service and has been sent back for a refund. All in all I would say avoid this mouse. There are way better ones out there for around the same price. I ended up replacing this with another Tonor bluetooth mouse which is way better and higher quality. Also if you have large hands I could see this being very uncomfortable to use as this is a very small mouse indeed. Recommended? - No!
Computing
Posted on 24/02/2016 at 07:59pm
0
1
thumb
Havit MS976GT Gaming Mouse
I like gaming mice! I mean I ONLY like gaming mice! Reason being is that they always have thumb buttons! And sometimes even more buttons that can be programmed using software. Of course this particular piece form Havit doesn't have the latter but it does have the trusty thumbs and a very smart design, and that was enough for me. OK, so I ordered this mouse as it looks a very nice and smart thing for the small price tag. Inside it's nicely branded box, was the mouse under a moulded plastic window usually only seen with high-end mice. This definitely gives a good first impression. Under the mouse you'll find all the usual paper documents you'd expect but also a nice little card letting you know what you can do if your happy, or not. The mouse itself is of a very decent quality. A nice matte feel plastic housing which is always a welcome feature, as there's nothing worse than a smooth shiny mouse that gets covered in sweat! The two main buttons have a reasonable sound to them (not even the top mice have mastered the perfect click volume yet) and the mouse wheel button and rotation has no sound at all (unless you hold your ear right by them!). The wheel is of a very nice quality! It is a soft rubber that you can actually feel depressing inwards when pushing down on it. It is by far the most comfortable mouse wheel I have ever used! Just inwards from the wheel is the DPI button. This has s symbol of a 'running man' on it, which is actually a nice change from the usual 'DPI' shown on other mice. I'm not sure whether it's a design flaw, or just mine was stiff, but when I pressed this button, it gave me no feedback whatsoever that I had pressed it. It almost felt 'stuck' in that I didn't feel it go in at all and only knew that it had worked when my cursor started going faster/slower. Underneath you have the on/off switch, laser itself, and of course a battery compartment. This takes 2 AA batteries which, due to there being no pointless light system on this mouse, last a reasonable, if not very long time. The dongle is also located here too. Setting up was as straight forwards as it gets. Plug in the dongle, wait for your PC/Mac install the driver and away you go. At this point I always check to see the connection is solid by doing the 'drag test'. This is when I hold down the mouse button on my desktop and see that the 'selection box' stays on the screen. If it disappears at any point without you taking your finger of the button then, you got a faulty connection and/or button. This mouse passed the test and so made it passed the first round. Next round is just an endurance test, where I give the mouse to my son for Christmas! Good luck mouse!
Computing
Posted on 04/01/2016 at 10:30pm
0
1
thumb
Ronson Crown Gunmetal Jet Flame Lighter
Well this little beauty came as a nice surprise! Well constructed and very stylish to boot. Not at all what I expected for £4. 99! The lighter arrived inside a small bag which was surrounded with padding inside a small box. Opened up to find a nice little lighter with a high quality feel and had a nice weight to it. The main body is gray and has a matte feel to it, with the Ronson logo at the bottom right, which has a reflective, almost, hologram look to it. The top is a chrome finish giving it a nice contrast all round. When the button is pressed slightly, it releases the flame cap. This pops up quickly to reveal the jet itself. I do feel that the caps' release is a little bit 'light' though, as it seemed to pop up constantly while inside my pocket. A further, harder press, lights it up with a lovely blue jet-like flame. While it's not the strongest flame I've seen, I'm sure it will definitely give the wind something to rival! At the side you find a thin window where you can check the fluid level. This of course is always a welcomed bonus with any lighter of this design. At the bottom you see the expected re-fuel nozzle, flame adjuster, and a screw holding the casing together. The bottom, unfortunately, is rounded. This means the lighter cannot stand upright. Not a big deal but just something to note in case you are a collector and wanted to stand it up in a display case or something. Overall I'm happy with it. It feels and looks more expensive than it is. And for that reason I can't justify giving it less than 5 Stars! Well done Ronson!
Miscellaneous
Posted on 02/01/2016 at 10:28pm
0
1
thumb
JSG LED Ceiling Light LP-R 18w Day White
I like this light. A lot! It wont be everyones taste. It's not a dangly classy flashy looking thing. It's a light panel. That is all. But I like it! Originally when I ordered this light I wasn't expecting much. For £9 something... I expected a cheaply constructed molded plastic light fitting. But what I actually got was a well made, white coated, metal fitting with a nice acrylic lamp covering which defuses the light beautifully. With its low profile look it suits any room and will definitely be an advantage to those with low ceilings. I went for the 'Day White' model, which really gives off a bright, brilliant white light which will surprise you for at least a week every time you switch it on! Fitting can be as difficult or as simple as you want to make it. Ideally, you'll want to insert it into your ceiling for a flush fit. But in order to do that your going to need to cut a hole in your plasterboard I think, around 200mm wide (don't quote me, see instructions). But I didn't go that route. What I did was create two small slits in my plaster board, just enough for the two springs to get into, in order for the lamp to cling onto my ceiling (the springs are really strong!). This means the fitting itself is just below my plasterboard. Whichever way you do it though, you do have to make a hole big enough for the 'LED Driver' box to fit into. This needs to be wired to the mains wires in your ceiling. Due to the fact the driver box detaches with ease from the light fitting, with a small plug, it was very easy to do without any help at all. Please note: Mine had a small defect. But I didn't bother getting a replacement because, although up close and zoomed in it seems very noticeable, when up on the ceiling you really don't notice it at all. So do I recommend this light? YES. If you want a no frills, minimalistic look that gives off great light and costs hardly anything to run, this is for you!
Home and Garden
Posted on 27/12/2015 at 10:25pm
0
1
thumb
Taotronics Dl01 Led Lamp Black
In an ultra sleek, piano black, this lamp screams style and quality! Such a minimalistic design that doesn't compromise on function with a USB socket nicely placed on the right side so you can charge a range of devices, without taking up another port on your PC. Opening the box I was surprised to see how compact this beauty was. Folded up it really doesn't take up much room at all. Easily screwed to its base with a plastic cap that hides underneath the solid, and quite heavy platform. Turning it on you find you have a small range of colour 'warmths' to choose from. At the very top is the brightest of the bunch, with all the brilliant white AND yellow LEDs lighting up, it gives off a nice warm but bright look. Great for reading as the button suggests. Next you have a 'study' mode. This one turns the yellow LEDs down slightly, to give a much 'whiter' light. This just gives you a slightly less warm tone than the 'reading' mode. Under that you find the 'relax' button. This one prominently used the yellow LEDs and keeps the whites to a very low glow. The room will look much warmer like this. Great for setting a mood ;) At the very bottom there is the 'sleep' mode. This turns the white LEDs off completely, giving a very warm, yellow glow to your room. This can easily get you felling relaxed and ready for sleep. In all modes above, you can also have the freedom of three brightness levels using the '+' and '-' buttons to get your light exactly how you want it. Below all that, you have a power button, and a sleep timer button. Pressing this will set the power button to start flashing. Although this is not distracting at all and the light will automatically switch itself of after 60 minutes. Of course, while the sleep mode is activated, you can adjust the light in any way you want. And if you decide to just turn it off, just hit the power button and it will cancel the sleep timer and switch off. You can also fold the lamp completely and leave it on. It will then still give a nice ambient glow, lighting up the wall behind it, due to the long gap in the 'leg', which lets the light through nicely! The only gripe or minor complaint I have with this lamp is this – the buttons are capacitive touch buttons. And I find that they aren't great at picking up my finger touches. It might just be my fingers. But I notice that if I swipe my thumb or finger across them instead of just touching them, they work brilliantly. So really is a minor complaint. All in all though a great lamp! Recommended? - YES!
Home and Garden
Posted on 27/12/2015 at 10:22pm
0
1
thumb
Taotronics Dl04 Led Lamp  White
I was pleasantly surprised at how small and compact this lamp is. Opening the box revealed a nicely thought out package arrangement which keeps the lamp itself well protected. The lamp comes in sections, but unlike flat pack furniture, it was actually very easy to see how it goes together, and did so with ease. Just screw in the neck to the base, then the lamp head slots onto the phone jack type plug at the top. Plug in the power adapter and hey presto, you're done! The lamp itself has a unique twist, in that it can be disconnected from the neck and used as a stand alone torch. This is a rather brilliant feature as you can now take it on your midnight trips to the bathroom. Just slot it off the top of the neck, and place it back when you return. Of course, it must have enough charge in it first, so you will need to keep it plugged onto the neck for a hour or so straight out of the box, before your first outing. The LEDs themselves have three brightnesses. You must hold the capacitive touch button on the head for about 2 seconds for the light to switch onto it's lowest setting, then a short press more and it will go a little brighter. One more press will take it to its brightest setting. And rather bright it is. It always amazes me how bright tiny little LEDs can be. So be sure not to look directly at them as they can hurt the eyes somewhat. Personally I use this as an up-lighter. Thanks to the phono jack that connected the head to the neck, it allows you to turn the head to face upwards as well as downwards as a spot light (see video below). Having it face upwards allows the light to spread around the room better, giving nice ambient light. Facing downwards is good too, but the light is then more concentrated in a smaller area, albeit a brighter area. Also a very handy feature this lamp has is a USB. This could be used for charging devices such as your smart phone, kindle etc. The only downside to this is that it is positioned at the back of the lamps base, which means you must leave a gap behind the lamp of at least 4-5cm. This may not be a problem for most but may be for many. I have now had this lamp nearly 2 years and it is still going strong and performance is A star! I have 2 lamps by Tao Tronix now and due to the quality of them both, I will always look to them for my lighting needs. Recommended? - YES!
Home and Garden
Posted on 27/12/2015 at 10:17pm
1
1
thumb
thumb
thumb
thumb