thumb
thumb
thumb
All Reviews - 91 Results
Ronson Crown Gunmetal Jet Flame Lighter
Well this little beauty came as a nice surprise! Well constructed and very stylish to boot. Not at all what I expected for £4. 99! The lighter arrived inside a small bag which was surrounded with padding inside a small box. Opened up to find a nice little lighter with a high quality feel and had a nice weight to it. The main body is gray and has a matte feel to it, with the Ronson logo at the bottom right, which has a reflective, almost, hologram look to it. The top is a chrome finish giving it a nice contrast all round. When the button is pressed slightly, it releases the flame cap. This pops up quickly to reveal the jet itself. I do feel that the caps' release is a little bit 'light' though, as it seemed to pop up constantly while inside my pocket. A further, harder press, lights it up with a lovely blue jet-like flame. While it's not the strongest flame I've seen, I'm sure it will definitely give the wind something to rival! At the side you find a thin window where you can check the fluid level. This of course is always a welcomed bonus with any lighter of this design. At the bottom you see the expected re-fuel nozzle, flame adjuster, and a screw holding the casing together. The bottom, unfortunately, is rounded. This means the lighter cannot stand upright. Not a big deal but just something to note in case you are a collector and wanted to stand it up in a display case or something. Overall I'm happy with it. It feels and looks more expensive than it is. And for that reason I can't justify giving it less than 5 Stars! Well done Ronson!
Miscellaneous
Posted on 02/01/2016 at 10:28pm
0
1
thumb
JSG LED Ceiling Light LP-R 18w Day White
I like this light. A lot! It wont be everyones taste. It's not a dangly classy flashy looking thing. It's a light panel. That is all. But I like it! Originally when I ordered this light I wasn't expecting much. For £9 something... I expected a cheaply constructed molded plastic light fitting. But what I actually got was a well made, white coated, metal fitting with a nice acrylic lamp covering which defuses the light beautifully. With its low profile look it suits any room and will definitely be an advantage to those with low ceilings. I went for the 'Day White' model, which really gives off a bright, brilliant white light which will surprise you for at least a week every time you switch it on! Fitting can be as difficult or as simple as you want to make it. Ideally, you'll want to insert it into your ceiling for a flush fit. But in order to do that your going to need to cut a hole in your plasterboard I think, around 200mm wide (don't quote me, see instructions). But I didn't go that route. What I did was create two small slits in my plaster board, just enough for the two springs to get into, in order for the lamp to cling onto my ceiling (the springs are really strong!). This means the fitting itself is just below my plasterboard. Whichever way you do it though, you do have to make a hole big enough for the 'LED Driver' box to fit into. This needs to be wired to the mains wires in your ceiling. Due to the fact the driver box detaches with ease from the light fitting, with a small plug, it was very easy to do without any help at all. Please note: Mine had a small defect. But I didn't bother getting a replacement because, although up close and zoomed in it seems very noticeable, when up on the ceiling you really don't notice it at all. So do I recommend this light? YES. If you want a no frills, minimalistic look that gives off great light and costs hardly anything to run, this is for you!
Home and Garden
Posted on 27/12/2015 at 10:25pm
0
1
thumb
Taotronics Dl01 Led Lamp Black
In an ultra sleek, piano black, this lamp screams style and quality! Such a minimalistic design that doesn't compromise on function with a USB socket nicely placed on the right side so you can charge a range of devices, without taking up another port on your PC. Opening the box I was surprised to see how compact this beauty was. Folded up it really doesn't take up much room at all. Easily screwed to its base with a plastic cap that hides underneath the solid, and quite heavy platform. Turning it on you find you have a small range of colour 'warmths' to choose from. At the very top is the brightest of the bunch, with all the brilliant white AND yellow LEDs lighting up, it gives off a nice warm but bright look. Great for reading as the button suggests. Next you have a 'study' mode. This one turns the yellow LEDs down slightly, to give a much 'whiter' light. This just gives you a slightly less warm tone than the 'reading' mode. Under that you find the 'relax' button. This one prominently used the yellow LEDs and keeps the whites to a very low glow. The room will look much warmer like this. Great for setting a mood ;) At the very bottom there is the 'sleep' mode. This turns the white LEDs off completely, giving a very warm, yellow glow to your room. This can easily get you felling relaxed and ready for sleep. In all modes above, you can also have the freedom of three brightness levels using the '+' and '-' buttons to get your light exactly how you want it. Below all that, you have a power button, and a sleep timer button. Pressing this will set the power button to start flashing. Although this is not distracting at all and the light will automatically switch itself of after 60 minutes. Of course, while the sleep mode is activated, you can adjust the light in any way you want. And if you decide to just turn it off, just hit the power button and it will cancel the sleep timer and switch off. You can also fold the lamp completely and leave it on. It will then still give a nice ambient glow, lighting up the wall behind it, due to the long gap in the 'leg', which lets the light through nicely! The only gripe or minor complaint I have with this lamp is this – the buttons are capacitive touch buttons. And I find that they aren't great at picking up my finger touches. It might just be my fingers. But I notice that if I swipe my thumb or finger across them instead of just touching them, they work brilliantly. So really is a minor complaint. All in all though a great lamp! Recommended? - YES!
Home and Garden
Posted on 27/12/2015 at 10:22pm
0
1
thumb
Taotronics Dl04 Led Lamp  White
I was pleasantly surprised at how small and compact this lamp is. Opening the box revealed a nicely thought out package arrangement which keeps the lamp itself well protected. The lamp comes in sections, but unlike flat pack furniture, it was actually very easy to see how it goes together, and did so with ease. Just screw in the neck to the base, then the lamp head slots onto the phone jack type plug at the top. Plug in the power adapter and hey presto, you're done! The lamp itself has a unique twist, in that it can be disconnected from the neck and used as a stand alone torch. This is a rather brilliant feature as you can now take it on your midnight trips to the bathroom. Just slot it off the top of the neck, and place it back when you return. Of course, it must have enough charge in it first, so you will need to keep it plugged onto the neck for a hour or so straight out of the box, before your first outing. The LEDs themselves have three brightnesses. You must hold the capacitive touch button on the head for about 2 seconds for the light to switch onto it's lowest setting, then a short press more and it will go a little brighter. One more press will take it to its brightest setting. And rather bright it is. It always amazes me how bright tiny little LEDs can be. So be sure not to look directly at them as they can hurt the eyes somewhat. Personally I use this as an up-lighter. Thanks to the phono jack that connected the head to the neck, it allows you to turn the head to face upwards as well as downwards as a spot light (see video below). Having it face upwards allows the light to spread around the room better, giving nice ambient light. Facing downwards is good too, but the light is then more concentrated in a smaller area, albeit a brighter area. Also a very handy feature this lamp has is a USB. This could be used for charging devices such as your smart phone, kindle etc. The only downside to this is that it is positioned at the back of the lamps base, which means you must leave a gap behind the lamp of at least 4-5cm. This may not be a problem for most but may be for many. I have now had this lamp nearly 2 years and it is still going strong and performance is A star! I have 2 lamps by Tao Tronix now and due to the quality of them both, I will always look to them for my lighting needs. Recommended? - YES!
Home and Garden
Posted on 27/12/2015 at 10:17pm
1
1
thumb
Olympus ME15 Tie Pin Microphone
A nicely packaged and presented tie mic that could easily go un-noticed during a broadcast/video by clipping onto your tie or button fasteners on your shirt. I felt that maybe an additional clip or two could be used to secure the lead and stop it moving around during recording. This way you won't get too much unwanted rustling sounds on the audio recording. One thing to note is that this particular mic has a MONAURAL PLUG. That means it will only record the left channel. This is not made clear in the description so may come to a surprise to many, as it did me. With no need for a pre-amp I felt like this would be an advantage as you don't need to worry about batteries. It gets all the power it needs from the camera/ audio device itself and it seems to all work nicely enough. Of course, trying this on my Nikon 5100 DSLR didn't really give great result. Although this wasn't the fault of the microphone itself but more to do with the bad quality audio that DSLRs tend to be known for. On my Sony Handycam it was much better but as I said before – only one channel of audio. It's easy enough to adjust the panning during editing, but I personally prefer to not have to worry about that, so this was a deal breaker for me. In conclusion, a nice little mic with decent quality audio. But, if you're looking for nice stereo sound then look elsewhere. May I suggest the 'Sony ECMCS3 Microphone'. (This is the one I settled on after trying three mic's).
Musical Instruments
Posted on 27/12/2015 at 10:14pm
0
1
thumb
Ronson Chrome Soft Flame Lighter
This surprisingly shiny lighter is a lovely offering by Ronson. I was first very surprised at how shiny this thing is! I didn't pay much attention to the title (Chrome) or the second picture on the product page, so didn't expect such a mirrored finish. But I like it. Even though mirrored isn't my style usually. I actually think it looks great! It has a large button at the top which is very easy and 'soft' to press. It would definitely be suitable for more elderly people who may find a lot of today's lighters a bit hard to press. Electric lighters usually have very stiff buttons. Not this one! It's ease of use makes it very comfortable and a pleasure to use. The flame is large and seems, so far, to appear on first press every time. At the bottom is a refill nozzle, the Ronson logo, and a screw to adjust the flame size. These seem to work as intended. Recommended? - Yes!
Miscellaneous
Posted on 26/12/2015 at 10:11pm
0
1
thumb
Novo USB Arc Lighter
To be honest, when I ordered this, although it was a bit pricey, I really didn't expect much. And the fact it said it was expected to be delivered in January (ordered end November 2015) my spider senses told me it was coming a long way, maybe even from China perhaps? Well it was meant to be a Christmas present and so I thought 'well, better late than never!'. To my delight, it turned up a week before Christmas, and on opening the Chinese labeled package, the surprises started. The display box has an outer cardboard sleeve, which is of nice quality. Then you get the display box itself. A pleasant-to-touch black box, with a soft feel lid to it. I thought 'oooh nice'. Then I opened the box. Inside you have the lighter itself on the left, covered with a protective sleeve, and a small USB lead inside a box, on the right. Each with their own slots to keep them nicely in place. Taking the protective sleeve off the lighter I was struck by the striking colours. I ordered the rainbow one and my god, is it a rainbow indeed! Lovely to look at and straight away you feel the weight of it and can't help the feel it is of a very good quality build! The last time I felt like that was when I decided to change my Samsung Galaxy Note 3 for a Blackberry Passport! As soon as you hold it you realize you've been cheated in the past on quality and the general bang-for-buck factor! Anyway, at the top of the lighter is a flip cap. The front side has a small round button. And below that there is a tiny hole which, at first, I wasn't too sure what this was for. Underneath there is a micro USB port used for charging. So I flipped the lid open and pressed the small round button. It does take getting used to a side button rather than a top button like normal lighters, but, actually it feels nice to use this way. Once pressed, the lighter creates a spark, or an 'Arc' of heated electricity which looks nice with it's purple glow. (Don't touch this as it is very hot!) My first impression was that the elements that create this Arc, were maybe a little close together for a normal cigarette, but were just fine for my rollies. I was wrong though as I tried a mini cigar and it lit -albeit by burning the underneath a little too much. But I feel this was more my lack of experience in using this type of lighter - as after a few more tries you get sort of used to it an realize you don't have to hold it so close in order for it to light. So I wanted to try the USB lead. The lead itself is exactly 20cm long from end to end. It is white in colour so looks very nice and also feels good quality. Plugging it in requires a little effort as it is a tight fit. But this is how I prefer USB's to be as you know it's not going to come loose. I then noticed that tiny little hole lit up. Rather like a Christmas tree actually! It has a VERY bright purple/blue LED inside which illuminates to let you know it is charging. I havn't had a chance to charge it fully yet so have no idea if it goes out once charged or not. But I would imagine it either goes out or changed colour to give the user some feedback as to it's charging status. Sooo, all in all I am very impressed with this lighter and don't regret the price at all. I do however feel that display boxes, a s nice as they are, are pretty pointless with lighters, as they will no longer be needed once initially opened. And I'm sure that the cost of these boxes are in the purchase price. This means that I've partly paid for a box which will be stored away in a draw somewhere, or thrown out. Anyway, that's my only gripe! Recommended? - Yes!!
Miscellaneous
Posted on 26/12/2015 at 10:05pm
0
1
thumb
Tecknet Delteck DS2600 - Gaming Mouse
A very nice and well built mouse. This offering from Tecknet is yet another reason I'm getting to like the company more and more. With it's quality feel, this budget gaming mouse is definitely a nudge above it's competitors with both style and feel, and will definitely please the casual PC or laptop user. With no software to install, this plug and play mouse will be roaring around your mat in no time. With five levels of DPI (800/1200/1600/2000/2400DPI) it offers a diverse range of usage. And will hopefully please a wide range of users. From the lower end 800dpi, it can be used nicely for intricate works, like an image editor or 3D design software. Then you can bump it up a notch for the 1200dpi, probably best for normal usage. Then for the heavy gamers who want fast reaction time during a hardcore FPS session, you can take full advantage of the 1600 - 2400dpi range. Unfortunately though, there is a downside. The thumb buttons. Although nicely positioned, have only one function, and cannot be programmed. This may be fine for some people, but with the functions being so scarcely needed, very few will find them an advantage. That said, please note, I am not a gamer, so I have no idea how useful Ctrl, Alt, and Shift are in-game, but there they are anyway, right at your thumb tip. Underneath we find a switch with three settings. OFF/ ON/ and ON with lights. This allows users to decide whether or not they want the mouse to illuminate all the time, draining precious battery power, or just have the lights switched off, all the while having the mouse otherwise fully functional. This allows users to save battery power if the lights aren't that important to you. Although I do notice that even on this setting, the scroll wheel seems to illuminate almost every time i move the mouse. Or pretty much anyway. All in all I think this is a very good mouse. The feel, the weight and the overall look of it is well achieved. It's a shame the thumb buttons couldn't of been better thought out as this lets the mouse down. Except for maybe a very small market of people, who like this button/function choice, and have no desire to change it, I feel if Tecknet had software available for this mouse, then that would allow the user to customize it, and make it a much better experience overall.
Computing
Posted on 25/12/2015 at 10:00pm
0
1
thumb
Silicon Power SSD 120GB
A good, cost effective SSD. I use this for storing GTA 5 (PC) files on it downloaded from Steam. This way they have their own drive and I have plenty of room for Mods on here too. The game alone takes up around 70GB (at time of writing) The SSD is quick enough for GTA to run at full settings without issues. See the video for a better look. But I would recommend a few of these drives as they are handy, cheap to buy and seem to hold up well in tough environments (HD game usage).
Computing
Posted on 24/12/2015 at 09:55pm
0
1
thumb
Rode PSA-1 Microphone Suspension Arm
The Rode PSA1 is a sturdy and trustworthy piece of kit. Made mostly of solid steal it will hold your condenser mike with no worries of it struggling with it's weight at all. In the box, along with the arm itself, you get two mounts and a mic suspension adapter. There are also two Velcro cable ties to keep your lead held in place. The two mount types allow you to decide whether or not you want to make a hole in your desk, or just clamp it to the back edge. Once fitted it will first want to pull itself upwards. That is fine. Once you put your microphone on the end it will counter weight the force and balance out perfectly. You are then free to put it in any position you like and it will stay right there, no arguments. In conclusion, a bit pricey, but, you certainly get a good, quality item, from a good quality company!
Musical Instruments
Posted on 24/12/2015 at 09:42pm
0
1
thumb
thumb
thumb
thumb