thumb
thumb
thumb
All Reviews - 91 Results
Olympus ME-51S Stereo Microphone
Review pending...
Audio / Visual
Posted on 12/11/2019 at 07:30pm
8
1
thumb
Neewer G2 4k Action Camera
Ok so here we have the Neewer G2 action cam 4K! Neewer's 3nd action cam offering following the G0 and G1. With a price less than £70 does this camera stand up on it's own in the action cam market? Lets take a look... In the basic package you get various mounts for car window mounting, bicycle handle bars and others. You get a micro USB charging lead. But you don't get a micro HDMI lead. But to be honest as it records to SD card you don't really need one. You also get a waterproof case as standard! Even a remote control! Basically everything you need to get started is right in the box – bar a memory card! You will need to supply your own card as with all cameras, and this will ideally need to be a class 10 card. I bought the 'SanDisk Extreme 64 GB microSDXC Card' Amazon UK | 'SanDisk Extreme 64 GB microSDXC Card' Amazon US, which only set me back £12. And this gives me the speed to record 4K without a problem. More on this later. The camera itself is small and very lightweight! It has a nice rebberized coating so is easy to hold and grip. I'd imagine it shares the same dimensions as a GoPro and most mounting accessories would also share the same design. I have never used a GoPro though, so I can't be positive on that but all these action cams tend to lend themselves to each other quite nicely from what i've read and seen. To turn it on you press and hold the 'Mode' button, and it starts up very quickly indeed, albeit with a quite annoying start-up sound. The camera is ready to start recording straight away which is very convenient for catching action as it happens. In the settings you can also select which mode the camera starts up in. For example, if you're only using this camera as a dachcam, then you'll select the 'car looping' option. This way whenever you start the device up, not only is it in dashcam mode, but it automatically starts recording video! Awesome! Let's have a look at some of the modes. So 'Normal Video' is exactly what it sounds like. You press 'OK' to start recording, and press again to stop. Video recording is available in a few resolutions as follows: 4K(3840*2160)30FPS 2.7K(2560* 1440)30FPS 1440P(1920*1080)30FPS/60FPS 1080P(1920*1080)30FPS/60FPS 720P(1280*720)30FPS/60FPS/120FPS Time lapse photo mode: 1s/2s/5s/10s/30s/60s Slow motion video: This is cool but there's no option to set the speed. My guess is it records at 120fps and then automatically slows it down for playback. Normal Photo Mode: Self explanatory. You can choose to take shots in 12M/8M/5M/3M resolution. Auto Photo Mode: from what I can work out this just takes photos constantly until you press stop. Not the same as burst photo though and it only seems to take a shot every few seconds. Not sure what you'd use this for exactly. Timing Photo This is a self timer with options of 3/5/10/30 seconds. Car Looping Mode This is the dashcam feature. Works well and resolution is clear enough to see number plates etc. Video + Photo mode This records video while also taking photos simultaneously. I've noticed it's around 18 photos per minute. And finally Burst Shot mode This takes burst shots at around 10 shots per second. You press the 'OK' button once and it takes the shots automatically so you don't have to keep it pressed. Ok so the video resolution is really good for the price but don't expect awesome! It works well as a dashcam and action camera but if you're looking for a small vlogging camera I'd pay the extra and go with a GoPro. It has nowhere near the quality of the GoPro but then again the price is nowhere near it either. The 4K is pretty good and if you freeze frame the footage you can see you get some good detail. I do feel though the shutter speed may not be fast enough as you can see when it pans the footage looks a bit choppy rather than silky smooth. But then again, at this price point I can't complain at all! Low light handling is acceptable. Especially if using as a dashcam as I am. You can see things clearly enough so no gripes there. A feature I like is the built in stabilizer. You do get a light crop with this but it's worth it for handheld shots. and if using as a vlog camera then it'll help massively. A note on SD cards. As I mentioned earlier, you will need a fast card for this camera, as you would on any camera, especially a 4K camera. At first I used a normal micro SD card which although it will work, the video will freeze every few frames. Each freeze lasts for around 5 frames. This of course brings problems as besides being very annoying to watch back, something critical could happen during those frames if using as a dashcam. So make sure to get a decent card. Again, here's the one I got 'SanDisk Extreme 64 GB microSDXC Card' Amazon UK | 'SanDisk Extreme 64 GB microSDXC Card' Amazon US. The camera comes with a number of mounts. Most of which are wasted on me as I'm not a sporty kind of guy but these will probably sort out most of your action cam needs. Most of them, I must be honest, I don't even know what they're for. It does come with 2 sticky back mounts for securing to the windscreen of your car. One of them even has a 3/4” screw hole. There is two spares in the pack too! Another cool feature is the remote control. It comes equipt with a Velcro strap to put it on your wrist or bike handlebar etc. that way you can take photos and even start and stop video with a press of a button. I keep mine strapped to my handbrake. This way I can start or stop the video before I set off, and when I park up. Also if you are using it as a dashcam, go into the settings and toggle the inversion switch. This flips the screen upside down as you will have to mount the camera upside down. So this means the video will record the right way up when you watch it back on your PC or TV! The battery is removable. So you could get yourself some spares by contacting Neewer as I can't seem to find them sold online anywhere. Also included is a waterproof case. This has a mount already attached for quickly securing into the car window mount. They even included a spare door for the case! WATERPROOF CASE Water proof casing seems to work well. It's rated for 98ft /30meters but I'm not testing that for you! But this will allow for some cool and creative filming. I tested it out on the kitchen sink (that's as adventurous as I get!) and it worked very well. All the buttons are easily accessible while in the case except for the touch screen of course. But you can use the up and down arrow buttons on the side to navigate the menus while in the case. All in all this camera is a good buy if you're on a budget and want a decent all round action cam for your hobbies, or even your kids activities. At this price you don't have to worry too much about loss or damage. If you're looking for a dashcam I highly recommend it! It will definitely meet your needs in that area. I think this would make an awesome xmas present for your kids too and may take them away form the consoles (stranger things have happened!) and inspire them to be and think creatively. I'd of loved one of these when I was young as I was a big camera fan even back then! Anyway I'm out. If you have any questions or comments leave them below.
Photography / Videography
Posted on 29/10/2019 at 08:23pm
8
1
thumb
Sony a6300 Mirrorless Camera
Don't let the size fool you! I own a Sony Handycam HDRXR550VE for video, and a Nikon D5100 for stills. I was hoping the Sony A6300 would replace both of these cameras so I could have an 'all-in-one' solution. Was I wrong? Possibly. Read on... Now don't get me wrong, this is one great camera! The specs are impressive, especially for it's compact size. Of course, the size changes depending what lens you're using, but it's packed with features – some you'll use, some you wont – but it is a good all-in-one camera that will suit a lot of people. If you're moving up from a 'point and shoot' compact camera then this is a no-brainer, it will blow your mind. If you're moving over from a DSLR, it will take a few hours to get used to, but you will most likely love it, once you've customized the buttons and settings the way you want. Don't let the size fool you, it is a heavy unit at 415g (with battery but without lens). It feels solid in the hand and not flimsy or cheap. It has all the physical features you would want in a camera. Although an extra custom button would never go to waste. There are two 'C' buttons (c1 + c2), but there is also an 'FN' button that can be programmed with (custom) quick menu functions too. I use this for things like white balance, picture profile, zebra peaking etc. I actually very much like this feature being there. And once you're used to it, it's very handy. The view finder is awesome! There's no other way to put it. It beats any DSLR in every way I can think of. The picture is sharp and clear and you have options to customize what info is shown to you while looking through it too. The LCD screen is great too. Although it doesn't articulate 'front-ways' (for vloggers or selfies) it does angle up and down to help compose shots at angles. No more laying down on the floor to get a good low angle shot! It's also bight and clear and can, too, be customized as far as the info displayed. On both the view finder and LCD screen you can also have a digital, on-screen 'level' indicator, which is good and looks so cool! Now then, on to the photos. I found this hit and miss! Some photos I took looked great! Others looked terrible. For a camera of this caliber, you'd expect sharp, clear, great quality photos, but a lot of the pictures looked like they were taken with my smartphone, my cheap Chinese smartphone! When zoomed in using photo editing app on my PC, the pictures were fuzzy and not sharp and clear like they should be. Some of them were sharp and high quality, but most of them weren't. This is a problem I thought. I have the Sony 20mm f2.8 lens and thought maybe it's the lens so I tried my Nikkor 35mm prime lens on it (with adapter) and the images suffered the same problem. Albeit maybe not as bad but still nowhere near as good as they should be at this price point! Another issue I noticed in the photos is that there are 'lines' every so often. The kind of lines that are visible on Google Earth when they stitch images together. I guess they're called 'seams'. Well I've noticed these in the images I've taken. Some of them at least anyways (see photos below). This is strange. Maybe the camera works by taking multiple images and stitching them together, in-camera, so you have a large image at the end of it??? No idea! Will have to do further investigating. So was it going to replace my Nikon D5100? There was only one thing to do to find out... FIGHT!! I mean... DUEL!! Yes, it was time for a shoot off! I took both cameras out the back garden and shot a series of photos with both of them. Long story short... the Nikon Blew the Sony out of the water on every shot! Both on colour and sharpness (see photos below). WOW, I know! A £350, 16mp camera producing way better image quality than a £750, 24mp camera. So I thought, “what if the lens is causing the difference”. So I used the Nikkor 35mm on the A6300 with an adapter and although they were a little better, they still didn't fair up. Reading other peoples reviews and looking at photos and videos online I see other people are getting better results. Maybe mine is defective? I did, after all, get it as an Amazon warehouse deal due to the “box being damaged”. But when it arrived the box wasn't damaged. But it had been opened (the seal was cut and re-sealed by amazon). So maybe someone had returned it before as defective and it ended up being sold to me? Who knows. But I'm returning it and getting another one to see if it's the same. So stay tuned for the update... Of course I can't leave it there. I must touch on the video side of it as it is a major function and selling point of this camera. So you have a lot of options here: AVCHD, XAVC S HD, XAVC S 4K, MP4. If you shoot in PAL you get: 25/50/100fps. Or if in NTSC you get 24/30/60/120fps. NOTE 1: In both modes the 100 or 120fps is only available in 'XAVC S' mode. NOTE 2: There are also options of bit-rate (image quality) for all modes (see example image below). NOTE 3: This model HAS got an audio-in jack for ext. microphones. It works well. Also the sound quality from the built in microphone is very good. NOTE 4: You'll want to remove the 'strap clips' from the sides of the camera body! These things rattle like mad and ruin your videos. They're easy to get off by just using your finger nail to pop the black plastic thing off, then then just remove the metal triangle thing (you'll see what I mean when you get it - if in doubt there are YT videos showing how to do it). Anyway, on with it... The video quality is beautiful. The higher quality file types take up quite a bit of storage so be sure to have a large, and fast for that matter, SD card inside it. You will need a U3 Class 10 card for 4k preferably. You should note though that this model doesn't have in-built stabilization. If you need that, then you will have to pay a few hundred more monies to get the A6500. Or just buy lenses with stabilization. I'm not going to upload a video here on Amazon for you to see the quality as Amazon's video upload system sucks and it compresses video horribly, but you can go to my Youtube channel for that by going to YT and typing 'redreviewz' in the search box. If the video isn't up yet then why not sub and click the bell so you will be notified of it being posted ;) (shameless plugging going on here aye) The auto-focusing when recording video is very good. Probably one of the best I've seen in any camera. It is also quiet so no annoying lens sounds in your videos :) ******************* Beware, RANT coming right up!!!! *********************** A quick comment (or rant) about Sony's filing system...it sucks! Sony cameras, for some strange reason, feels the need to create a series of folders on the SD card and puts photos in one (great!), but then for the videos, it creates a folder called 'MP_ROOT', inside that is a folder named '100ANV01', inside that is your MP4 quality recorded videos. Then you have to back-up to the root of the card and then go into another folder named 'PRIVATE', then inside that there are 3 folders. 'AVCHD', 'M4ROOT' and 'SONY'. Seems simple enough right? Wrong! Inside AVCHD, there is a folder named 'BDMV'. Then inside that are three more folders, and you must go into the bottom one - 'STREAM' to find SOME of your videos. THEN!... you must back-up yet again to 'PRIVATE' in order to get to your other files. This time going into 'M4ROOT', then into the top folder (there are FOUR folders in here), 'CLIP' to find the rest of your videos!!!! I know this paragraph was long but that's how long it takes to see all of your files. It's ridiculous! SONY YOU MUST FIX THIS!!!! What is the point in this terrible filing system? You could of easily just created one file for photos and one for videos. We really don't care what file format it is! If it's a video, just put it in the same file as all the other videos! Anyway, rant over! ******************** END OF RANT**************************** One thing to mention... When recording some video clips, I noticed on one or two of them there was a strange noise. It sounded like digital processing going on in-camera. It was only quiet but you could hear it. So maybe this is another fault? I'll find out once I get the new one. If it is going to be an issue then this camera will definitely be dead in the water :( You can't have that noise on your videos that's for sure! So in the end I like using this camera very much. But, the quality issues I've had with it are unforgivable. So I'll have to see if the replacement is the same or better and make my mind up for sure then. ***UPDATE - 2019*** Well the replacement seemed a little better but then it did come with a different lens in the kit. This time instead of the 20mm 2.8 lens, there was an 18-50mm power zoom lens. This is a good lens. What I find though is the same as before. If I shoot in 'auto mode' the images are sharp and clear. But if using manual they look 'fuzzy' when you zoom into the image. I hate this. And I cant understand why it's happening. I always use my Nikon in full manual mode and never ever ever ever have I had 'fuzzy' looking images. It bothers me and that's why I just cannot sell my Nikon. It's still my 'go-to' camera for stills and I can depend on getting great shots every time! *** UPDATE END***
Photography / Videography
Posted on 18/09/2019 at 07:38pm
8
1
thumb
Logitech MX Master 2S - Professional Mouse
So I bought this because I'm a PC mouse enthusiast of sorts. And I'm always on the hunt for the best mouse in the world! Available in three colours, Black/Gold, White, and the one I went for, Midnight Teal. This mouse has a total of seven buttons, all of which are programmable by downloading the Logitech software. The software is called Logitech Options and is available from their website. In the software, as well as programming buttons, you can change the pointer speed. And that's about it. This isn't a gaming mouse though, so of course there's no lights on it to change the colour of etc and the DPI of the pointer is only 200 – 4000 and these can only be set in an increment of 50. That's ok though for most professional users. But it doesn't give you any info of what setting this is currently set to, it just has a slider. That's it. Programming buttons was as easy as it should be. For each button you get a selection of functions that you can select from, or you can create a macro. This was easy enough to do. The mouse has two ways to connect to your PC. It comes with a USB wireless receiver, and it also has Bluetooth built in. But you should know that your PC must have 'Bluetooth Low Energy Technology' for it to work. My PC doesn't but my laptop does, therefore my PC has the USB receiver plugged in and my laptop just connects via Bluetooth. Both work very well I might add. The mouse connects first time EVERY time with no delays. You can also pair this mouse with up to three devices. There is a button at the bottom you can press to toggle through the three device profiles when needed, more on this later. They can even have different button layouts for each. The thumb rest is also a button itself as with Logitech's other MX models. Pressing this will allow you to view all the apps you have running at the time. Very handy. But of course this can be reprogrammed too. The thumb area has a rubberised coating which feels quite nice on the thumb but I will say I preferred the Performance MX thumb grip to this one as it had more grip. The rubberised area stops as it meets the back and top of this mouse. Here it turns to a plastic material which does have a slight mat coating which feels OK when the palm is resting on it and so far doesn't seem to make me sweat while using it, which is always a plus. The far side where your pinky finger rests is also rubberised for comfort. This makes lifting the mouse all the much easier unlike their earlier G602 gaming mouse. The thumb side of the mouse has a side scrolling wheel and two buttons. I must say the placement of these buttons could have been better thought out. They seem to have squashed them together. I think it would of worked better if there was just one button either side of the scroll wheel. I have reprogrammed these buttons to be cut and paste as I do a lot of file management on my computer systems so I use those functions all the time. The side scrolling wheel is of a beautiful quality. I could scroll this wheel all day as I love the smoothness of it. Unfortunately that's where my love for this wheel dies a death. The rubberised grip on the wheel attracts dust and small debris. Once something is stuck inside the grip it is very hard to remove it. Also I don't really often have a reason to side scroll really. Seems a bit of a novelty. Unless you use spreadsheets a lot. There is good news though. You can reprogramme it. You don't have as many options with this though. For example you cant assign a macro to this wheel. But what I did was select the 'page back and forwards' option. This means when I scroll upwards it goes a page forwards and when I scroll downwards it goes backwards. This might seem a little weird at first but I got used to it surprisingly fast. The main vertical scroll wheel has the 'free-wheel' function MX users will be used to. By default the button above the wheel engages and releases the gears of the wheel. This way if your looking through a long document or webpage, you can press this button to disengage the gears and the wheel will spin freely, allowing you to scroll down or up extremely fast. I personally decided to change this button to 'Save', and then enable the 'SmartShift' option in the software. This means that the gears will stay engaged on the wheel. But if I give the wheel a sharp spin it will sense this and automatically switch the wheel into free spin mode. It will then re-engage the gear after it stops. And this works really well! I love this feature. And you can even set the sensitivity of this. OK so the feature that really sold this mouse to me was the FLOW system. Enabling this in the software means you can drag the mouse pointer to the edge of the screen on you PC and then it will appear on the screen of your Laptop. It is quite handy if you often use your laptop on your PC desk at the same time while using your PC. This way you can use just one mouse for the two computers and amazingly you can even copy files from one to another. You press copy on your PC for example, then move your mouse to your laptop screen and click paste. Whallah! Unfortunately you can't drag and drop files but that's not a big problem. So all in all this mouse is impressive in certain ways and a let down in others. I feel the mouse needs more buttons. One or two more on top like the G602, and one or two more OR just a reconfigure of button placement on the side. The thumb wheel, although a nice novelty, it needs to have more programmable options to be useful. The size and ergonomics of the mouse is good and I wouldn't say much improvement is needed there. But the feel of it could be nicer. The battery seems to be amazing. I've had it just over 2 months and I've only charged it once since it came out of the box. The battery indicator was on two lights when I opened it and it is was still on two lights after over 2 weeks usage. It boasts up to 70 days of use between charges and it seems to be telling the truth. What's great though is it's supplied with a USB cable which you can plug into the front of the mouse in order to charge it and keep on using it while you do. Brill! Another quick mention too is the dark field laser technology which is superb. This mouse will work on even clear glass as long as it's a minimum of 4mm thick. And the range of this mouse is 10m. Recommended – YES!!
Computing
Posted on 31/08/2019 at 07:24pm
8
1
thumb
Zoom H5 Handy Recorder
Ok so I used to be a 'Tascam man'. I loved their recorders and didn't want to switch to another brand. Stupid I know but you know what it's like when you like a certain brand. Anyway I decided on the H5 and man what a recorder this is! The main thing that pulled me in was the interchangeable microphones coupled with the portability. Owning one of these meant I could sell my microphones and other recorders, both hand held and studio, and just use this instead. Just as long as the quality was good enough. Oh and it was too! OK so it's not a small recorder. If you're looking for a dictaphone then, although this works well, it's not pocket sized. It does come with a hard case included though, but it would require a bag or carry case to put it into if travelling or on the move. So although it is large it fits in one hand comfortably. I has all the usual connections; headphones, line out, USB, and a remote connecter. It also has two XLR's at the bottom. The mic capsule at the top of the device also has a Line In 3.5mm jack. The device requires 2 AA batteries (included) or you can power via USB using a power bank if you wish! The design of the unit is sort of retro with buttons and knobs rather than just having a large screen with stylish, modern looking interface. It is simple and effective and functional which is all you want and need. You have a large GAIN dial for each XLR input as well as GAIN dial for the mic capsule at the top. You have limiters and compression settings in the menu systems that you can set for all mic inputs or just the ones you want separately. On the back of the unit is the battery compartment and a standard tripod screw hole so you can attach this to a tripod, boom pole or a cold shoe adapter. What I have done is bought the MOVO suspension mount and connected that to a handle grip. This way there is little to none handling noise transferred to the recordings. If you hold this device in your bare hands while recording you will almost certainly have unwanted noises recorded whenever you move a finger on the body of the unit. This is true for all handheld recorders so be sure to order a shock mount too! The one I have is here: Movo SMM5-R - Amazon UK (affiliate link) Movo SMM5-R - Amazon US (affiliate link) So testing it out I found the quality is awesome. When processing the audio (using Audacity mainly) I found by adding a low noise filter (which was hardly needed for most recordings but I always do this anyway) and amplifying the recording it produced extremely professional results. The best I've ever been able to achieve from a portable recorder in any case! I have done a lot of vocal speech testing and man does this sound good! You won't be disappointed I'm sure! I also did some sound effects samples and ambient recording samples. It handled everything with ease and was able to reproduce the sound just as I heard it. I am very happy with it. It is also very good with batteries. The same ones I put in when I opened it are still in there now! And I've used this for a good few hours! Just WOW. That's where Tascam could learn a few things as their recorders are known for bad battery life. But no problem with the Zoom H5! Recommended - YES Sir-Re Bob!
Audio / Visual
Posted on 18/06/2019 at 08:33pm
8
1
thumb
Comica CVM-VM-K2 Smartphone Video Kit
Wasn't sure what to expect from this product. It arrives in a lovely case of good quality. The handle has a rubber grip for durability, and the zip feels of good grade. Inside the components of the video kit are separately packed into a nice foam for protection. The 'lid' of the case has a netted compartment that is separated into two sections, one larger than the other. These have the instructions, warranty and audio cable in them and can be used to store other things to your taste. Pulling out the microphone it reminded me of my Rode VideoMicro. The build quality seems the same and the design is similar too. The whole microphone is one solid piece of metal. There's not a single screw in it's construction (on the exterior anyway). It is black in colour and looks great! The microphone mount is a nice design too. Although it is plastic it feels like it will do it's job very well. I have faith in it! The base of it has a 1/4” screw hole and is also able to fit straight into a cold shoe. The clamp for hold your smartphone is also very durable. It is re-sizable and this is done by the screw on the top. Once your phone is in the clamp it will have a good grip on it and your phone wont fall or slide out as there are rubber grips on the top and bottom to keep it secure. The tripod was very impressive! I love this little thing! Very similar to the Manfrotto ones in design. The legs fold out and even have nice rubber grips on the bottoms of each leg to keep it from sliding around on the smooth surface. The legs, when folded shut are comfortable to hold and use as a handle. There is also a button that when pressed, the ball head can freely move around. Once this button I released the ball head will not move. There is one thing to note about this microphone. That is that it may not work with your current phone camera app. I tried two phones by different manufacturers and neither worked. You will have to download something like 'Open Camera'. This is free on the Google Play store. (I don't have an iPhone so you'll have to look for a free alternative) And to be honest it's a better app than most built in camera apps anyway. Once installed I went into the settings and checked the microphone setting to 'External (if plugged in)' option. This made the app get audio from my Comica Microphone instead of the phones built in mic. This is why you need to install a different app. Most built in phone camera apps will only work using the built in microphone in your phone. Included in this kit is also a sponge wind guard and a dead-cat wind guard – BONUS! After doing a few tests I was happy with the results. The Comica definitely showed an improvement over the built in mic. The audio was louder and clearer. This kit is something that all phone vloggers should have!
Audio / Visual
Posted on 02/01/2019 at 09:03pm
8
1
thumb
Custom PS4 Controller by the Controller People
A great controller. These are official Sony controllers that get modified to a high standard. Full review coming soon. Check out the video!
Gaming Accessories
Posted on 24/12/2018 at 04:40pm
8
1
thumb
Nemesis Now Spirit Board
If you're looking for a bit of fun this halloween, but don't know what to do, then this board could be your answer! Very well made board from Nemesis Now. It's made from a kind of wood so is not thin like a Monopoly board and it does not bend at all! It is around 6mm thick and the planchette is the same. The print is awesome and seems to be a sort of material rather than just a glossy stick on thing like board games. The material is rough to the touch but the planchetter runs over it so smoothly it's very pleasant. I love the design. It looks so old and yet is so new. Make sure you use this board with someone experienced. Make sure you say goodbye before closing your session. And make sure you have a lot of fun!
Miscellaneous
Posted on 30/10/2018 at 08:59pm
8
1
thumb
Jelly Comb Ultra-Thin Wireless Keyboard + Mouse Combo
This keyboard I really wanted to love. And don't get me wrong, there's a lot to like about this stylish, sleek finger-tip buddy (what? I don't know). In silver it screams style. The keys are low profile and the curved back runs smoothly into the squared front. This is exactly the kind o keyboard that I go for. Sure it's no good for gaming, but for touch typing it's fabulous! The keyboard features all the right keys in, mostly the right places. There is a slight difference to most keyboards you might be more familiar with, like the hash key and the windows key though. Not a big problem. My favorite thing about this board is the dedicated 'Cut', 'Copy',and 'Paste' keys! These are amazing! I do these things ALL THE TIME so having these keys are a godsend! In fact I always buy gaming mice just so I can have extra buttons to program to cut, copy and paste! I feel that ALL keyboards should have these keys as standard! It definitely makes a difference from CTRL+X ect any day! The mouse I'll only mention briefly as it's not exactly the reason you would buy this set really. It's a no frills, generic cheap feeling mouse that won't get you excited one bit. Moving on... So the keyboard is thin, stylish and even has it's own in-built battery to boot! All you have to do is charge it up with the micro USB cable supplied and happy days! Keep in mind though there is actually a small switch that is easy to miss. You must hit this before anything will happen. Once turned on it lights up like a christmas tree and looks very smart while doing so! Of course, nothing is absolutely perfect. No one company can seem to hit the nail completely on the head. Ihere is one problem with this board. And it could be a big problem. The designers, for some reason known only to themselves, decided to make the row of 'F' keys at the top, 'FN' functions!!!! I hope you didn't spill your coffee while reading that but yup, you heard right! They decided to make the F keys, media keys. So you have the usual media keys like 'Play, stop, skip, vol +-'etc where the F keys should be and to use the F keys, you must hold the FN button. Now this wont be a bother to your average user. If all you do is surf the net and do the odd social media thing and online shopping or whatever then it probably wont affect you one little bit. In fact you may even love it if you like to listen to music as you do these things. This way you'll have full control of your listening experience right there at the top of your keyboard. If, on the other hand, you're a coder, then this is going to be a royal pain in the @$$! More than the F keys are affected here too! You see, they decided to put the '\' and '|' symbols as FN functions too. Now, you can 'lock-on' the FN key so you don't have to press it all the time. But then you lose the 'Z and X' keys as these are the keys that have the '\ and |' symbols!!!!! See my frustration???!!! What exactly were Jelly Comb thinking? Anyway. I sent mine back. I'm not going to lie. But like I said, if you don't need or are not bothered by the above criticisms then I would recommend the board to you as it is very well built and a pleasure to look at. Just a shame about the mouse and FN functions :)
Computing
Posted on 24/10/2018 at 07:57pm
8
1
thumb
Logitech MX Master 2S - Professional Mouse
***************** Video coming soon **************** So I bought this because I'm a PC mouse enthusiast of sorts. And I'm always on the hunt for the best mouse in the world! Available in three colours, Black/Gold, White, and the one I went for, Midnight Teal. This mouse has a total of seven buttons, all of which are programmable by downloading the Logitech software. The software is called Logitech Options and is available from their website. In the software, as well as programming buttons, you can change the pointer speed. And that's about it. This isn't a gaming mouse though, so of course there's no lights on it to change the colour of etc and the DPI of the pointer is only 200 – 4000 and these can only be set in an increment of 50. That's ok though for most professional users. But it doesn't give you any info of what setting this is currently set to, it just has a slider. That's it. Programming buttons was as easy as it should be. For each button you get a selection of functions that you can select from, or you can create a macro. This was easy enough to do. The mouse has two ways to connect to your PC. It comes with a USB wireless receiver, and it also has Bluetooth built in. But you should know that your PC must have 'Bluetooth Low Energy Technology' for it to work. My PC doesn't but my laptop does, therefore my PC has the USB receiver plugged in and my laptop just connects via Bluetooth. Both work very well I might add. The mouse connects first time EVERY time with no delays. You can also pair this mouse with up to three devices. There is a button at the bottom you can press to toggle through the three device profiles when needed, more on this later. They can even have different button layouts for each. The thumb rest is also a button itself as with Logitech's other MX models. Pressing this will allow you to view all the apps you have running at the time. Very handy. But of course this can be reprogrammed too. The thumb area has a rubberised coating which feels quite nice on the thumb but I will say I preferred the Performance MX thumb grip to this one as it had more grip. The rubberised area stops as it meets the back and top of this mouse. Here it turns to a plastic material which does have a slight mat coating which feels OK when the palm is resting on it and so far doesn't seem to make me sweat while using it, which is always a plus. The far side where your pinky finger rests is also rubberised for comfort. This makes lifting the mouse all the much easier unlike their earlier G602 gaming mouse. The thumb side of the mouse has a side scrolling wheel and two buttons. I must say the placement of these buttons could have been better thought out. They seem to have squashed them together. I think it would of worked better if there was just one button either side of the scroll wheel. I have reprogrammed these buttons to be cut and paste as I do a lot of file management on my computer systems so I use those functions all the time. The side scrolling wheel is of a beautiful quality. I could scroll this wheel all day as I love the smoothness of it. Unfortunately that's where my love for this wheel dies a death. The rubberised grip on the wheel attracts dust and small debris. Once something is stuck inside the grip it is very hard to remove it. Also I don't really often have a reason to side scroll really. Seems a bit of a novelty. Unless you use spreadsheets a lot. There is good news though. You can reprogramme it. You don't have as many options with this though. For example you cant assign a macro to this wheel. But what I did was select the 'page back and forwards' option. This means when I scroll upwards it goes a page forwards and when I scroll downwards it goes backwards. This might seem a little weird at first but I got used to it surprisingly fast. The main vertical scroll wheel has the 'free-wheel' function MX users will be used to. By default the button above the wheel engages and releases the gears of the wheel. This way if your looking through a long document or webpage, you can press this button to disengage the gears and the wheel will spin freely, allowing you to scroll down or up extremely fast. I personally decided to change this button to 'Save', and then enable the 'SmartShift' option in the software. This means that the gears will stay engaged on the wheel. But if I give the wheel a sharp spin it will sense this and automatically switch the wheel into free spin mode. It will then re-engage the gear after it stops. And this works really well! I love this feature. And you can even set the sensitivity of this. OK so the feature that really sold this mouse to me was the FLOW system. Enabling this in the software means you can drag the mouse pointer to the edge of the screen on you PC and then it will appear on the screen of your Laptop. It is quite handy if you often use your laptop on your PC desk at the same time while using your PC. This way you can use just one mouse for the two computers and amazingly you can even copy files from one to another. You press copy on your PC for example, then move your mouse to your laptop screen and click paste. Whallah! Unfortunately you can't drag and drop files but that's not a big problem. So all in all this mouse is impressive in certain ways and a let down in others. I feel the mouse needs more buttons. One or two more on top like the G602, and one or two more OR just a reconfigure of button placement on the side. The thumb wheel, although a nice novelty, it needs to have more programmable options to be useful. The size and ergonomics of the mouse is good and I wouldn't say much improvement is needed there. But the feel of it could be nicer. The battery seems to be amazing. I've had it just over 2 months and I've only charged it once since it came out of the box. The battery indicator was on two lights when I opened it and it is was still on two lights after over 2 weeks usage. It boasts up to 70 days of use between charges and it seems to be telling the truth. What's great though is it's supplied with a USB cable which you can plug into the front of the mouse in order to charge it and keep on using it while you do. Brill! Another quick mention too is the dark field laser technology which is superb. This mouse will work on even clear glass as long as it's a minimum of 4mm thick. And the range of this mouse is 10m.
Computing
Posted on 20/10/2018 at 03:37pm
8
1
thumb
thumb
thumb
thumb